You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Insect Studies: Do Researchers Have an Obligation to Their Subjects?

in StemSocial β€’ last month

To the untrained eye, the picture above this paragraph seems to show a Drosophila brain with highly integrated neurons

It looked like a flower to me πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜­

It never occurred to me if insects could feel pain or not.
Although sometimes their wiggling of legs when dying, it does remind me of suffering

Sort: Β 

It looked like a flower to me

It is quite beautiful, you're right :)

We have always been careful with insects in my house. Try to save them, when possible. Take them outside. But, if they are endangering me (like a poisonous spider), or invading my space (like the ants), then they will be killed. But I always suspected they could feel pain. And, since I didn't know for sure, I always acted as though they could.

This makes it harder kill them now, though. Especially cockroaches. Ugh!!

Thanks for reading and commenting my young friend, @seki1