You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding Determinism, Predeterminism And Superdeterminism (Part 1)

in StemSocial2 years ago

Thanks for tagging me to the realization that someone just ruined my planned future posts xD

I'm joking of course, it's lovely and interesting to read other opinions/posts about the subject. And @clinton19's was certainly interesting.

the universe was so small that it should be subjected to quantum mechanics. This therefore consists in a non-deterministic period

As far as I know, at that point, neither quantum mechanics nor any mechanics that we know of currently are relevant though. So, I'm not sure how you arrived at that conclusion :p

No one is comfortable once we go to the "begining" and certainly that is the main issue with deterministic theories and why they get thrown away and "downplayed". You have to go that far back, and nothing can be proven or disproven once there..

But personally, I do think a hidden variable theory like "superdeterminism" has some merits and makes more sense.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Ahaha, I baited you with my comment :D

As far as I know, at that point, neither quantum mechanics nor any mechanics that we know of currently are relevant though. So, I'm not sure how you arrived at that conclusion :p

In the very (very very very) early universe, the size of the universe was so small that there is no way we can ignore quantum mechanical effects. There is however no option for us to know what to do, as this would require a framework that is compliant with both quantum mechanics and general relativity. If quantum mechanics is around, then determinism is gone, isn't it?

But personally, I do think a hidden variable theory like "superdeterminism" has some merits and makes more sense.

There are non-experimentally-excluded options, if I am correct. This is however a bit far from my domain of expertise and I am afraid I won't be able to comment more.