You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you know how new phenomena are searched for at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider?

in StemSocial2 years ago

A theory predicts something, constrained by older findings or within the frame of known models, and lays out specific expected results, then any related data would be collected, filtered, and looked into? I think... 😅


Okay, I didn't have in mind the exact steps of how the data is collected when I tried to guess above (not that I would have guessed right anyways, haha), so excuse my ignorance. :'D


Man, that's a lot of floppy disks 💾 you guys use at CERN... No wonder I can't find any in the shops anymore xD

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

A theory predicts something, constrained by older findings or within the frame of known models, and lays out specific expected results, then any related data would be collected, filtered, and looked into? I think... 😅

That's totally true. However, there is also some room for the unexpected. Just in case. I didn't mention this in the blog. This is what is called "minimum bias" :)

Okay, I didn't have in mind the exact steps of how the data is collected when I tried to guess above (not that I would have guessed right anyways, haha), so excuse my ignorance. :'D

That's OK. You are totally excused. It was more of a trick of mine to have people reacting to the blog and interacting with me ;)

Have a nice upcoming week-end!

Well your trick worked ;)

Have a wonderful upcoming week-end too, and upcoming vacation!

 2 years ago  

Thank you!