A grasshopper sitting still and looking pretty harmless

in Hive Pets2 years ago (edited)

There is a one legged rather large brown grasshopper that seems to have moved into my garden and is not showing any sign of leaving? Should I welcome him as a new found pet or should I be worried for my plants?

I first saw him one morning as he sat on the mat of the deck minding his own business. I just happened to look up from my book He appeared pretty harmless but at the same time wondered where he came from and why was he visiting? I am a suspicious kind of girl.

New Note.jpeg

After a few minutes of reading I looked up again and saw that the grasshopper had moved, he was now on the coffee table just sitting and still looking pretty harmless.

I decided to take a close up photo of this chilled out grasshopper who was showing to be very comfortable at my place. Noticing he had one leg him I mentioned it to my husband who said he did this when taking him off a plant a week ago. Interestingly this grasshopper did not seem to worry about having only one leg, but then I was only guessing since I don't know too much about grasshoppers.


New Note.jpeg

Oops, then the penny dropped, this grasshopper had to be hungry and had to be sizing up my begonia on the coffee table. Of course, silly me, he wanted to snack.

New Note.jpeg

But no, he hopped away quietly without me noticing and was relieved to see that the leaves were untouched by grasshopper teeth. Maybe he had moved onto the neighbours's garden.

But no, I was wrong as later on after sunset I went to the outdoor shower to wash off the sand from the beach, and what did I see? I saw a one legged brown grasshopper sitting on the shower door still looking pretty harmless. He had not left the garden after all. Thankfully, it is a two door shower so I left him alone and went in through the other door to shower. I am definitely not fond of grasshoppers jumping on me.

All Photos - 1 of 1.jpeg

Just as I finished my quick wash the sand off shower I turned and let out a little involuntary gasp at the head of the grasshopper peeping over the door at me. Never have I had such a close up encounter with a grasshopper before?

New Note.jpeg

Given the fact this grasshopper is missing a leg maybe he intends to stay around the garden, there are plenty of tasty succulent plants for him to satisfy his insatiable hunger. Maybe we own him since my husband tore off a leg.

And would you believe that the next morning there was the one-legged grasshopper sitting still and looking pretty harmless on the coffee table once again.

New Note.jpeg

Maybe just maybe this grasshopper and I could become friends since he has seen me in the shower and he is not eating the begonia. I am open to this next stage if he is willing, but then I have not bargained with a grasshopper before.

...........................................................

88A2EABA-ABA8-45D3-946A-695A8B78903C.png

Thank you @aldager for bringing the Amazing Nature community to Hive.

Sort:  

That picture of him peeking over is hilarious! He is an absolute grasshopper peeping tom! Thank goodness he doesn't have a camera - that would really be too much :)

Hahaha, I love the peeping tom picture and now have to get it out of my head. OMG a camera, heaven forbid. Sometimes little teaching planes fly over and I get a tad self-conscious😊 - hopefully no cameras attached.
Hopefully one of out butcher birds or magpies will eat this grasshopper for tea!

What a lovely story, Angie, and yes, in my eyes you are now responsible for him since your hubby took his ability to travel to other feeding grounds 😉 Maybe you should put a plate outside for him with fresh leaves and a bit water ... 3 times a day 😂

Our big grasshoppers here are all completely green and are completely harmless. These are nice close up photos you have taken, and as said above, it's a really lovely story 🤗


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

Hahaha, lots of daily feeding and water for this poor physically disabled grasshopper is only proper, thank you Hannes for the nudge. How rude of me not to think of this idea!
He( and I have no idea if he is a she but he will do), looks fierce to me given his size and colour. We have green grasshoppers of varying sizes too.
Thank you for you lovely words Hannes, I am chuffed.😎

That's so kind of you, Angie 😊
Maybe he will tell his friends about you feeding him and they will all hop to your hubby and hope he'll pull a leg out of them all 🤣 !LOLZ


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Breaking news: a pygmy shaman is being pursued by the authorities
That's right be on the lookout for a small medium at large.

Credit: reddit
@angiemitchell, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @johannpiber
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/8)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @angiemitchell.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.400


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Thank you for the wine, I shall raise my glass in a toast Hannes.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@johannpiber(4/15) tipped @angiemitchell (x2)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Nothing nicer than a piece of pizza on a Friday night, thank you.