A Snow Day!!! .. Molly, A Snowman, and Just Having Some Winter Fun

in Hive Pets3 years ago

01358b6d8d80cf9e4db56a6ebae77a165dd376363a.jpg

It's So Molly Not To Look At The Camera

Parts Of The Northeast Woke Up To A Snowstorm Today..

I was anticipating a snow event, and that's what we ended up getting. After trying to make it into work today, I decided I didn't want to take any chances with my fleet vehicles. I put out a group text and closed the office for today! Everyone needs a snow day.. Right?!

After A Little Working From Home.. I took lunch and my wife said, "Why don't we go out and build a snowman." What a great idea. I haven't built a snowman in quite a long time. I needed a break from work and the computer anyhow. The temps are just slightly above freezing, so the snow was perfect for snowman making.

Molly was content to watch from the door.. Making sure not to get hooked into the winter shenanigan's. Every so often I looked back and saw her watching us messing around in the snow. She's not a big fan of the white stuff or big things that look like strange people.. also made out of that annoying white stuff. hehe.

She is content in her little area that I shovel for her. After all, she needs somewhere to do her 'Business' too! The snow was coming down at a pretty good pace and it didn't take long for her little back to get covered. (before you ask, she doesn't like wearing sweaters. Otherwise she would be wearing one).

016fddf6ea4c03d3301fabcc91ccef5c2ac4fb1c7a.jpg

Takes her FOREVER to find a place to poo. I think she likes sniffing around a little too.. just trying to find a familiar smell.

01a25643aec7c3bf6d4248531ce855be4d64e60196.jpg

She occasionally strikes a pose. I was able to click off a few photos. Nope, she wasn't going to look at me, despite my calling her name over and over. She just doesn't like to face the camera.

0191ef904caef0c13b2a5ef0652e662603c5769a72.jpg

She did come over to check the phone out though.. haha

015d45699f21e736c5906d47bd9ef7c7aa0cc785e0.jpg

0186f387ec2b0da3280640dfed78d2b12a468c15e2.jpg

Then FINALLY A Good Shot!!
Love this shot. I think it came out really cute.

01358b6d8d80cf9e4db56a6ebae77a165dd376363a.jpg

Then All Of A Sudden.. I whisked her away and tried to get a few pictures with her next to the snowman. She wasn't liking it at all! She was pushing so hard into me trying to get away from this freak of a thing. We tried.

019a42acfd6a85d893fd262939dd5d9b212859b28a.jpg

01c100fd695db7f13d18bfa6747c07cb7578baf3f7.jpg

The Snowman.. Didn't come out too bad for a few amateurs. That snow was heavy and I'm old.. It was a work out for this old man. BUT it WAS fun and did bring back a few childhood memories. I wonder if Molly will be freaked out over the next week as he still remains in part, after the temps warm up. We'll see. She will probably avoid the white leftover snowman at all costs!

01a4dc4583ac0ecbdf7517229035bf90868d69251f.jpg

Snow is so pretty when its new and brilliant white. The lake must have a thin skim of ice on it, because it looks like it is covered in a blanket of white.

01b3441351fef23bd034080ae2addb8c844e674fbd.jpg

Well, Off To Clear The Driveway Of Snow.. I have to get to work tomorrow. One snow day will have to be enough this week. Lot's to do and very little time to get it all done. All the work put off today has to get done tomorrow. ugggg... Let me get to snowblowing!

0170663a890cef5979744728db9a2b3a329a60f350.jpg

All Done!!

01e564a1c5f15988e7475723e2304aeac5bae19f84.jpg

Now That I Am Done ..

I think I'll have a beer and snuggle down with molly for a nap before dinner is done. Tonight we are having roasted chicken. Looking forward to it and a good nights sleep!

Molly Has The Right Idea!!!

01b7058ba8dae4bc6ed61ce3800bff982a8d595ade.jpg

Hive text divider.png

016fe6d37b633a415de76e65709e3562459b8d6049.jpg

“You wake up on a winter morning and pull up the shade, and what lay there the evening before is no longer there--the sodden gray yard, the dog droppings, the tire tracks in the frozen mud, the broken lawn chair you forgot to take in last fall. All this has disappeared overnight, and what you look out on is not the snow of Narnia but the snow of home, which is no less shimmering and white as it falls. The earth is covered with it, and it is falling still in silence so deep that you can hear its silence. It is snow to be shoveled, to make driving even worse than usual, snow to be joked about and cursed at, but unless the child in you is entirely dead, it is snow, too, that can make the heart beat faster when it catches you by surprise that way, before your defenses are up. It is snow that can awaken memories of things more wonderful than anything you ever knew or dreamed.”
― Frederick Buechner, Telling the Truth: The Gospel as Tragedy, Comedy, and Fairy Tale

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Fell free to send some of it our way! We haven't gotten as much as I had hoped so far this year. Our ground is covered probably until Spring, but I would really like to see some more piled up. We haven't had a really good snow event it quite some time. Our dog loves rolling around in it. She is nuts!

haha.. Pepper used to get all amped up when he went out in the snow. Never was sure if it was a nervous thing or a playful excited thing. Molly is quite the opposite and I think the snow scares her.. lol.. but what doesn't??! Hehe. I am packing it all up and sending out to you. Look for it in the mail in a few days 😁😂

Nice! I am ready! I got a new snow blower this year and I have only gotten to use it twice so far! I don't like it on the roads, but I love a good foot of it on the ground.

Excellent job with that cover image. Just enough enhancement to really brighten that grass. I'm a sucker for dogs.

Thank you!!! 😁 I was using Portrait Mode on the iPhone.. Came out pretty good I thought too. Yeah.. I'm a sucker for dogs too, especially Molly 😊

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Thank you for the support and curation! I appreciate the love. Thanks!!😁


LOL, that was my try this year and Joy wouldn't walk pass by it 😂. Also the whole taking pictures of my dogs and them looking away sounds so familiar, just as the pooping issue 🤣.
I enjoyed your little story a lot, I hope the roasted chicken was good and give Molly a hug and a Hi to your wifeeee :).

That chicken was goooood! and Melissa says Hi back! Every once in a while I get Molly to look at the camera or at least in the direction of the lens. Not very often though. I like your snow man/deer. It was a successful yearly attempt. They are calling for more heavy wet snow this weekend.. maybe we can make a mate for the half melted one still in our back yard?! We'll see.

Molly is such a cutie... sorry to hear about the loss of your little boy. Not a bad snowman either...😎

Thank you for the condolences. We lost him September 12th and it seems like yesterday somedays. We are healing but really miss him badly, Life sucks sometimes. Molly is a cutie and she knows it I think.. lol. We suck at snowman building, but gave it our best shot.. glad you approve!!! hehe.. Have a great day! 😁

Oh... I know that pain too... My backyard has become (in part) a private pet cemetery of sorts. Some of the animals I've laid to rest there, weren't even my own.😒