The Healing Power of a Wagging Tail

in Hive Petslast year

PSX_20230206_193536.jpg

For someone who often appears reserved and serious, it may NOT come as a surprise that I often smile at people. There is a secret that not everyone may know about me. One thing that has changed me and brings a smile to my face is a small creature with a bark that sounds like a whisper and a tail that wags. It's like my nature and myself when I see puppies. Even just seeing people playing with dogs from a distance brings me happiness, but when I see a dog suffering, it breaks my heart. Not everyone may understand this, and not everyone may feel the same way, but I always say that it's fine. At least there are still people like me, even if we are not in large numbers.

Not everyone may understand my feelings towards my furry friends, but those who do, surely have the same soul like mine. This is my response to yesterday's blog by @ruffatotmeee . It is heart-breaking to see dogs suffer and be neglected by their biased owners, or to see them being starved and punished. They don't deserve that kind of treatment.

My mother always warned me to be cautious around dogs. I understand that not all dogs are safe, and some can be aggressive or even dangerous. The threat of rabies and diseases acquired from being outdoors is also a concern. However, I always make sure that the dogs I approach are friendly, and if they show any signs of aggressiveness, I back away. When puppies just want to play, I can't resist but to join in, and the happiness that comes naturally to me is indescribable.

People often ask me if I cry while watching a movie. It may sound funny, but yes, I do. However, I make sure I am alone. One movie that touches my inner self is "Hachiko." Hachiko was a famous Akita dog in Japan known for his loyalty. I believe that every dog can be loyal if they are given what they truly need, such as food, care, and love. The thought of my pet waiting for my return like Hachiko, with no assurance that I will ever come back, breaks my heart into pieces.

Just last month, a social media post went viral and made the news about the Filipino version of Hachiko. Two dogs were patiently waiting for their owners who will never return home. As I was reading the article about it, this type of story made me sad. I didn't necessarily cry a lot, but there was a deep ache in my heart when I imagined the scenes.

When I say that not everyone may understand, I mean the pain of losing a dog, especially one who has been with you for years. Pets might not understand what you've been through and the problems you share with them, but they are still there for you always. The unconditional love.

The cover photo is a picture of me and one of my dogs. He is sleeping by my side while I do my classwork. I don't know how to explain it, but the feeling is that my tiredness disappears and I find myself laughing at his dream barks. Yes, dogs do dream. Sometimes I would be startled by his sudden bark while he was sleeping in my lap, but he was still a puppy then and I would let him sleep there while I worked. Now he's grown up, but he still thinks he's a puppy.

He was the most loyal dog I have ever had. Whenever I go, he is there, patiently waiting outside even when we go to homes where he may not be welcome. He just stays near me, as if it's his way of telling others that he's with me.

Sometimes, people may understand you, but they may not be there for you. Pets might not be able to understand words, but they can show you differently. You can see how good a person is by observing how they take care of their pets. If someone is always careless and violent towards animals, what can you expect from their treatment of humans? It's worth considering what it means to be truly humane.

This is just a random thought as I was looking out the window, waiting for the rain to stop so I can attend to something outside. I am grateful for those who love their pets and wish them a happy life. Thank you for reading.

Hi, eunoia101 is a Farmer, Registered Agriculturist, Agronomist, Farm Technician, Mushroom Cultivator, Entrepreneur, and soon Researcher. Suppose your problems or queries are in any of the fields, don't feel hesitant to comment. We will try to resolve that. Upvote and reblog are highly appreciated.
Sort:  

I have a colleague who loves her pets just like her children. ☺️
I always salute those fur parents who spend their time taking care of pets.

Owww, me too I loved those people.

My partner is a dog lover, while I'm into cats. But regardless the type of pet, they all need the same amount of love and care.

Yung friend ko. Kinikiss pa nya pusa nya. Stress reliever nya haha. Cute ng photo nyo no doggie.

I do not really pay attention to dogs when I was a kid. For me, they are there to guard the house. As I get older, I get affectionate with them. They are so sweet and very loyal. sanaol.

!PIZZA

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@jijisaurart(2/5) tipped @eunoia101 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!