Bocola - Life of a Spanish shelter kitten 02

in Hive Pets9 months ago

May 5, 2023

Today is the big day. Yesterday I got a call to tell me that I could pick up Simba. Although I'm only 5,5 weeks old I need to make place for other kittens. The shelters are full and as soon as a kitten can eat by themself they need to go. I was not expecting a call now as in Belgium the kittens stay between 8 and 12 weeks with their mother. So I'm aware that I need to give all my attention to the little boy but luckily I'm always home. 2 weeks ago the foster mom sent me a short video and some pictures. So I could follow up on him.

Finally I would see our little one in real life. I was super excited! The foster lady was a very nice lady and we spoke a bit of spanish and english. First I could meet Simba and later on we filled out the paperwork for the adoption.


Last moments together with his sister.

From now on his official name will be Bocola. We played a bit and then it was time for the trip to his forever home. Bocola didn't like the driving (or was it my driving style?) and he was screaming all the way home. Poor little thing. Taken away from his sister and his mom!
First we had a quick stop at the vet as he was having an infection. This is very common with kittens from a shelter. But the vet was very friendly and give me a good explanation on what to do and how to treat it.
I was very happy when we came home and I let him discover his new area.

Ready for a new adventure!

Stay paw-sitive! 😽