Catching a butterfly: They can see things we can't

in Hive Petslast year (edited)

Hi Hivers!

Hope you are doing well. today i want to share with you one of the most beautiful moment i captured with my phone's camera. Few days ago i was walking along the park in the morning. When i saw a colorful Monarch butterfly 🦋 flying around in the park.

I have loved butterflies since my childhood and whenever I see them, an urge kicks in from inside to make them sit on my hand and witness their beautiful and elegant presence.

I decided to chase it and after a lot of effort, I caught it. I observed it for several minutes before deciding to free it. Its beauty and intelligent nature intrigued me and raised many questions in my mind. This led me to read about them, and i came across some amazing facts.

 " "IMG_20230307_094355_547.jpg""

Why are butterflies so special?

The history of butterflies dates back to 200 million years, and they are descendants of moths. Butterflies have the unique ability to see ultraviolet light, which allows them to detect specific flower patterns, and they taste flowers using receptors on their legs. These elegant and graceful creatures not only possess a striking beauty, but they also play a vital role in pollination, helping in growth of more plant seeds and improving the environment.

Butterflies are known for their long-distance travel, covering thousands of miles over several generations, despite never completing the journey themselves. This is a fascinating phenomenon. Which intrigued me that how they know when to relocate, and what drives them to do so? Their generations continue the journey, ultimately reaching their destination,it is truly remarkable.

Nature never fails to amazes you. Its just we know very little about our planet and this vast expanding universe from billions of years.

Let me know what you think about it in the comments. I would love to hear your thoughts.

Sort:  

You basically killed it right there with your fingers touching the wings

Really? 😳
But it was alive when i released her.

Yeah, I know but they say when you touch their wings the chances of survival is low, they have a sort of powder like substance on their wings much like moths... But no worries we played alot with them when we were younger so I've probably killed more than you😂