First Springtime Hikes With My Puppy

in Hive Pets3 years ago

Springtime is exciting because it marks the beginning of hiking season for me! Yes, I occasionally hike the mountains in winter, but I generally stay close to well-groomed, friendly trails with my Karelian Bear Dog, Kintla. It's exciting to watch the sun rear its shiny head to warm more and more days! Abundant sunshine means I’ll be out hitting the trails! This year though, I have an off-leash, trained adventure dog to take on my outings.

IMG_1134.JPG

pets-divider.png

Last week Kintla and I ventured onto an unfamiliar hiking trail. It was somewhat stressful as the new terrain excited Kintla, which in turn made me wary since the trail follows a deep river with swift currents, and I didn’t want her to stumble in. She wears a vibrating collar with no GPS; I’m hoping to get a GPS collar soon. With me yelling “KINTLA!!!” and buzzing her collar every few seconds to keep her close, I may have seemed somewhat obnoxious to the hikers behind me, haha.

Kintla and I had lots of fun as we trekked through stretches of trail still covered with snow. If you've read my other posts, you know that Kintla loves the snow! Cold frigid weather is ingrained in her Karelian Bear Dog DNA. She got the zoomies and zoomed around for a bit in a big stretch of snow that unfolded over a barren hillside. With a cliff nearby I didn’t want her to venture over the cliff! Maybe I’m just an overprotective mom?

pets-divider.png

IMG_0952 2.JPG

At the end of the trail, she ran through a forest opening of tall coniferous trees and played in the river—she had an absolute hoot. With the stress I felt over the new terrain, this hike would not have been as enjoyable if it wasn’t for my curly-tailed companion. She’s the best!

hive-sign.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @gubbatv! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

There are few things in this life that bring me more joy that to see how overwhelmingly excited a dog gets about simply being out in nature. That looks like a great wonderland for Kintla to explore!

She always gets me out even on the rainy days. I love watching her and how much she enjoys it!