Night Adventure With My Karelian Bear Dog

in Hive Pets3 years ago

IMG_0748.JPG

pets-divider.png

Last night my Karelian Bear Dog, Kintla, and I ventured into the woods on a familiar trail, but we soon found ourselves winding onto a strange path we had never set foot or paw on.

Kintla is always the leader of our pack, and she cannot stand it when I walk in front of her. She leads us on every trek into the trees, prancing forward behind the guidance of her nose. She is perpetually in tune with nature and mindful of every movement, sound, or object. I'm grateful for her awareness because it keeps us safe and secure on the trails. No person or animal can approach me without her first noticing them.

Karelians love having space to roam, and sometimes Kintla ventures beyond my comfort zone. She's equipped with a Dogtra training collar that signals up to 3/4 of a mile, and we have relentlessly practiced “COME” as her recall command. I feel okay walking further from Kintla than I would a dog without extensive training. Karelians are adventurous, unlike the typical dog breed that remains nearby on the trail—she's off in the distance occasionally glancing back to see how I'm catching up.

IMG_0547.jpeg

pets-divider.png

Sometimes during a hike with Kintla, I laugh when I imagine what other dog owners think as they walk with their Golden Retriever right beside them. They see me all alone, with Kintla way off in the distant sniffing some game trail. They probably think my dog is misbehaved or wild because she isn’t sticking close to me, but I know that's just Kintla’s inherent nature. She is always searching off in the distance for something she can hunt, while at the same time keeping a watchful eye on me. She is keenly aware of her surroundings at all times.

You can only understand a Karelian by having a Karelian.

Sort:  

Kintla is adorable!😃

Yeah she is lol thank you :)

TODA UNA HERMOSURA

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal