New year, Mew me

in Hive Petslast year

DSCF8290.jpg


Happy new year everyone!

Our 2023 is doing great so far with a new addition to the family. :D



DSCF8222.jpg

His name is Mew, he's a 4 month old Persian cat. He's color is gray with some stripe patterns on his face and belly.

I think it's obvious who named him. :P



DSCF8248.jpg

One day, we were at the mall and had to stop in front of a pet shop cos I needed to go to the bathroom which was beside it. We saw this cute little cat watching a dog eat his food and he looked so sad cos his bowl was empty. I had to run to the bathroom and when I came back, @acidyo was asking if we can take him.

I was a bit surprised with this question since we really aren't planning on getting another pet considering moving is really a hassle and very stressful for both humans and pets. Besides, keeping a pet is a long term commitment.

I realized he was serious so we asked about the cat.



DSCF8182.jpg

His face looks like he been so sad his whole life

I asked Acid on what came to his mind while I was gone since this is a really big decision we're talking about.

He said that the cat started staring at him for 10 seconds and his heart just melted. xD It's like as if the cat was communicating to him telepathically to "take me home plz sir :<".



DSCF8191.jpg

We went home to take some time before making a decision. I couldn't stop thinking about the cat as he looked so cute and sad. xD We were thinking he probably was sad even more now that he has to spend the night in the cage. :<

Even though things would be quite a bit complicated since we plan on moving, we decided we're gonna get him. Acid felt an instant connection to the cat and I won't let some circumstances stop him from taking him home.

So the next day I went back to the mall to buy groceries and brought a cat carrier-backpack with me. Since we planned on getting him the day after that, I decided to just get him during that time to surprise Acid. He was still sleeping at that time so he didn't see me leave with a carrier lol.



DSCF8324.jpg

Acid woke up with a cat beside him. :D



DSCF8178.jpg

Tbh I didn't know anything about Persian cats and I had to research on how to take care of them properly. Apparently you have to brush them often cos their fur can get matted quick. He's such a sweet and chill cat. He wasn't even afraid when I carried him in the cat backpack and even seeing people or cars while inside.



DSCF8256.jpg

He was very shy the first day we got him. Even his meows don't even make a sound. I would leave him in my room with his own litter box and food bowl and he wouldn't freak out or anything when left alone.

He is also very cuddly. He is very okay with being picked up and carried like a baby and lets you touch his belly too. :D



DSCF8274.jpg

DSCF8278.jpg

He got spoiled quick tho. XDD Nowadays, the second I open the door he would sprint and go downstairs like he just escaped prison. He's talkative now especially before I open the door. It's like he's not even asking for food or for us to open the door anymore, he demands it.



DSCF8303.jpg

The funny thing about this was initially we thought he's a girl cos that's what the shop told us. A few hours of him at home, Acid notices his balls and I was like "that's just the fur" but I didn't really look closely since I assume the shop knew exactly what they were doing.

About a day after, I was brushing his fur when I noticed his pee hole is in a position of a male cat. Omg he's a boy! Those were balls after all.

We went back to the shop to tell them he's a male cat and wanted to confirm if we got the right health card since it says female there and the vet can't make a mistake on that. They checked and said it was fine since he and his siblings were vaccinated at the same time anyway. They apologized for the mistake and we said we're not giving him back tho. :p



DSCF8245.jpg

Of course Ethan was also as excited as we were. At first, Mew was scared of him since he's a big dog but a day after he was cool with him. Now Mew rubs his face against Ethan's nose. :D But we still have to be careful considering Ethan acts like he's a chihuahua, he thinks he's small so he's not very careful around kids or kittens. Mew's so smol atm so we have to have a close look at them.



DSCF8236.jpg

Finally Ethan's first friend! :3



DSCF8328.jpg

He also sleeps with us on the bed.

Positioning him was a bit tricky since he's small and fragile and Acid moves a lot while sleeping. xD He can't sleep in between us cos there's a risk of being squished so we placed him on the top part of the bed where my head was supposed to be on (not the one on the pic). I had to move a bit down and it's just enough for my feet to be at the edge of the bed. To make it simple, he's the first one Acid sees when he wakes up in the morning.



DSCF8337.jpg

Thankfully, he understood fast that that was his place during bedtime. I wake up a lot of times during the night so I have a lot of opportunities to check on him. He would usually just stay on his place but there were times I saw him move to my leg area or between me and Acid so I have to move him back to his place.

He would also wake me up at 4am by brushing his fur on my face so I could take him to his room to eat. :p

The other cats don't like him as well and would hiss at him, not sure because they just don't like anyone or just because he's a male. :D Hopefully soon they will all be friends with each other so they can play together.

Sort:  

He said that the cat started staring at him for 10 seconds and his heart just melted

So difficult imaging anyone melting his heart apart from you. Tell ya, you gotta be careful of this little Mew. First it's your home, then your bed, eventually it's just gonna be big and little Mew, hidden no more!! Watch out girl !!!! 🤣🤣🤣

Yeah I also thought he would be the first to tell me “no” to adopting a new cat given our current situation. 🤣 I joked about it yesterday how he didn’t give me much attention now that Mew’s here and he’d kiss him more often than me. Lol

He's so cute. I really love the story of how you guys got him lol. That photo of him and Ethan is adorable. Glad they became friends quickly. Persian cats are amazing. They take some more work with the brushing and stuff but they are the most cuddly and friendly cats out there from my experience. I hope the other cats will accept him soon too. Good luck with Mew and I hope I get to meet him sometime soon 😄

I never expected them to be friends at all but I was hopeful since he's still a kitten. He's really something else, he would jump on our laps and initiate kissing lol I've never thought a cat can be this sweet. :D

This is MEWSOME! Or shall I say aMEWsing!

That's a mwitty comment xD

He is adorable!! That is awesome that @acidyo was the one that wanted him. That picture of him and Ethan rubbing noses is so cute. I would love for mine to be like that together, but Titus chased the cats around when they were kittens, so they aren't huge fans of him and Harley doesn't seem to care about any of the cats and only wants food. Have fun with the little furball, and yes, Persians need a lot of brushing, so make sure to do it often and start when he is little like this so that he is used to it and enjoys it. If you start too late, they will hate it.

Oh no, that’s what we are trying to avoid too. Ethan seems to be quite obsessed already so we would often just kick him out of the room or make it clear he needs to stop with the sniffing cos Mew might grow up hating him. Lol what’s up with these dogs stealing cat food🤣 I hope someday you’ll find themselves cuddling with each other. I find the cats get scared when Ethan is too energetic but they are okay when he’s calmed down or sleeping.

I have to brush him when he’s not in play mode otherwise he’ll just try to escape. 🤣

Wow so cute 😍😍😍 amazing photography ❤️

Thank you!

Impossibly cute kitty, good thing they are friends,Ethan's teeth look fairly Sharp.

They are very sharp but good thing he’s a bit gentle with his mouth even tho he uses it a lot. 🤣

Oh my god, that's a pretty little Mew :)

image.png

this one melted my heart <3

Ethan's eyes look like he's tearing up cos somebody finally accepted him hahah

AWWWWW😍😍 a new family member!! he is soo cute and i loved that he's sweet and let to be carried like a baby jajaja that's so cute!

you have a very sweet heart , you guys just changed his life for good! now he have a lovely home

He’s so happy being around and running so fast despite his size. Even running straight and would hide under the sofa just cos he knows we couldn’t get him there. Became naughty quick hahah

Happy Mew Yearrr!

Pfmew, luckily you found out he was male pretty soon, my brother's girlfriend's cat received a female name, and he turned out to be cranky AF. Unfortunately, he passed away a few months ago. I'm sure Mew is going to have an amazing time with all of the others! Hooray for Ethan's first new friend!

We named him Luna at first, even kept it a few days after knowing he's male lol even now I still can't really call him Mew. It takes a lot of time to get used to a change of name although I don't mind Luna at all too. :D

He's so cute. Using his charm to have him adopted. Lovely cat! 😄

Right?? He got adopted immediately just 1 day after being put there. His technique worked. 🤣

So cute!

Mew is absolutely divine and your photography gets better and better. I love the picture with the kitten and dog together.

I look forward to seeing the new post entitled:
'The Acid House' A home for waifs and strays that has a never ending, early 90s soundtrack on loop in the background.

Bless him....what a soft twat he really is lol ;-)

Both of you have an amazing 2023, take care of each other, stay safe and stay happy ;-)

Thank you! I glad I was able to capture that moment. :D
Funny thing, Acid actually mentioned about when we get so rich we just get a house and put all the strays there so they can be free and happy lol.

You too!

Seriously, why wait? Why not get a proposal issued to fund a Hive Shelter for stray animals! Fund it using the DAO, surely that's a wonderful use case for Hive sponsorship. That's real community making a difference.

Come on @acidyo, get off the games and get a proposal out there for funding!

Better than throwing millions at a fucking rally car that will probably crash at the first corner ;-)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @acidyo ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

A few hours of him at home, Acid notices his balls

Lol hahahaha the funny part indeed!

Awww she's so cute. Sorry he is XD This is one of the cutest pet photos I've seen lately. My favorite is the one with Ethan. They are so beautiful. I hope the other cats get used to him soon.

Your photos are so beautiful, you managed to catch your little cat perfectly, with a very nice light. But it's also because he's a nice model, so cute!! 😍
I really like the photo with your dog putting his nose to him. 😊
Animals are so precious and make us so happy!
I wish you beautiful moments with them, enjoy 😊

Happy New Year you too 🎇🎇🎇
Mew you, Mew me...🫣

!PGM

!LOLZ

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @alenox

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Love the name, perfect.

That's such an awesome story :) I'm glad you and Acidyo connected with Mew so completely. It was truly love at first sight ♥️

He sure doesn't look sad any more 🙌

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Aww, they look like they will be such good friends, I love dog/cat friendships. I recently had a few puppies dumped on us by a neighbor, but my family isn't in a good situation to take on pets right now, and boy was it hard to find a home for them, knowing all the while my daughters would cry when we found a home for them.