My FIRST BETTA FISH | Copper Halfmoon Betta + Setting up it's tank

in Hive Pets3 years ago (edited)

Staying in my aunts' house made me want to have my own fish in my room since it helps me get rid of my anxiety.

In my previous blog MINI FOREST TOUR WITH KOI FISHES AT HOME, while I was feeding the kois' made me realize that it is good for my mental health, I said to myself that I need to own one and while researching, inquiring, calculating the costs. it has come to my knowledge that it is expensive (I'm spending my own money ya see -)

the tanks you see below are my aunts and not mine. 😂

I didn't mention that we have other fishes aside from the koi in my previous blog because I think it suits to be shown with this current one.

I have been watching videos on youtube about having a pet fish and betta was always suggested so I thought of having one because they look so beautiful

IMG20210715143817-01.jpeg

So I searched on Facebook to see if I can buy a fish near our area which I found some, but it was very expensive and luckily my cousin's wife has a friend that raises betta fish and sells tank for a cheaper price

IMG20210715142817-01.jpeg

There are a lot of different bettas' in the containers, the owner asked me if I'm looking for a betta fish for a show, and to my knowledge, it is more expensive, it costs around 1500 - 3000 pesos (29.8 - 59.73 USD) like wow, not that then hahaha 😂

I told him I'm just gonna have the betta as a pet which he suggested for me to look around if I can find anything I fancy while he searches for other bettas on the other side of their house

I asked him if he got a green betta fish, he replied that he doesn't have one but has a closer color which he showed me this beautiful Copper betta fish - Half-moon.

IMG_20210715_195518-01.jpeg

Since it's rare to find a green betta in our place I decided to have this one that's closer to it, I also got one female betta for free, and both costs 250 pesos (4.97 USD) with free live food, tubifex worms

IMG_20210718_092535-01.jpeg

here's the other one, along with the guppies, I bought the 4 guppies at a different store for around 50 pesos (0.99 USD) the good thing about the female betta is that they don't harm the guppies.

When I bought my fish tank I was also given free water plants for my aquascaping plan, I'm happy with it because buying them in pet shops and other sellers in my area, where I inquired are very expensive where it costs 100 - 300 pesos each (1.98 - 5.97 USD).

If it's not free, I might try to go to swamp areas and look for myself 😂 but thank God for the freebies

I went to a fish shop to buy other fish tank materials and saw how he grew plants inside the tanks, which I'm going to apply in my aquascaping

see how one plant costs? it's 100 pesos (1.98 USD) 😅

IMG20210715155109-01.jpeg

I saw this alligator gar that costs around 6,000 pesos (199.47 USD). I find this beautiful but very scary. One customer was making fun putting his hand in the tank it was up to have a bite but of course, the customer moved his fingers away when it attempted.

If I imagine having this as my pet if in case it does bite, I would probably have cut my fingers the second I try to clean its tank, since i am careless, so nope! better safe than never. but of course, I would never buy a 6k for a fish 😂 I'm not that rich and I'm very practical. I'm more into cheaper ones with quality and freebies 😂



AQUASCAPING?


Why the question mark? because I dunno if my design is considered as aqua scaping hahaha because I just realize when I completed the set up it was just simple and it has more space inside

IMG20210716180609-01.jpeg
I wasn't the only one who was happy buying all the materials in one day, my little cousin was with me when I was going around places to buy everything and now he is grinning and excited about the setup.

IMG20210716180515-01.jpeg

I bought the small cups, the cut log? , and what seems like little penises hahaha for 150 pesos (2.9 USD) in Japan surplus.

the tank I bought is a set because it's way cheaper than buying one by one, in the set we have, Fishnet, a Submersible lamp, filter pump, methylene blue, and chlorine remover together with free plants which costs 1,800 pesos (35.84 USD).

225415554_1496735877327402_3447197807533464453_n.jpg

The first main move is pouring these two inside the tank, I bought the snow-white rocks in the fish shop for 200 pesos (3.98 USD) and lava rocks for 150 pesos per kilo (2.98 USD)

IMG20210716184439-01.jpeg

I put the lava rocks first and the white rocks after so that the plants I'll be placing will hold and grow, I followed the process I saw on youtube.

IMG20210716185702-01.jpeg

I have to think hard about where to put this and that, if it's in the right spot or not,

IMG20210716190322-01.jpeg

I think as I go, and for fun, I'm placing the little penises closer to the tree which looks like they're making rituals 😂

IMG20210716190318-01.jpeg

Okay so, tada ~ this is it, pretty simple really, I wish I have more plants to place on or a log, or a bonsai tree would be nice 😅

IMG20210716191636-01.jpeg

I turned on the light first before putting water inside, it seems nicer that way

but before pouring water in it, I wanna show my betta's beauty as it is starting to make bubbles while waiting to be put in his bigger home.

To my knowledge, if the male betta is starting to make bubbles, it is ready to mate or they are happy and healthy where it's put in.

anyways, time to fill the tank with water
IMG20210717222145-01.jpeg

I don't have a hose to gently transfer the tap water inside, so what I did was, I placed a plastic bag and pour the water on it, so it will lightly fill the tank without messing with the design and to avoid the lava rocks from dirtying the water.

IMG20210717230347-01.jpeg

After fully filling it with water, I poured the chlorine remover first and waited for at least 20 minutes before placing my betta inside the tank,

IMG20210717175329-01.jpeg

I bought a cup for the tubifex worms, so I can leave it as is, and my betta can just take a bite when it's hungry,

I am so not into worms, but for the sake of my betta, I have to get used to it and so far I'm getting the hang of it but I would never touch it. I've seen so many parasites coming inside the human body on youtube to see where this is going. 😅 I use unused clips, and small containers to move it.

I'm amazed at my sellers of it though, they actually put it in a plastic bag by hand. dude.. by hand !! I'm like what the fuuu--- nope never going to do that 😂

and yes the snails! beautiful and cute little creatures, they serve as my janitor in the tank to avoid having algae and I bought 4 of them for only 100 pesos (1.99 USD).

The work may be slow but they get the job done very nicely 👍

IMG20210717232125-01.jpeg

and after 20 minutes but most likely an hour of acclimating it.

I placed my betta inside the tank and is swimming happily ever after in the tank.

Thank you for passing by and have a Good day hivers !

Sort:  

Congratulations @jude.villarta! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies.
Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation