A rough Easter weekend for my fur baby

in Hive Pets2 years ago

img_0.10092866071260119.jpg

Where to begin? I tend to think our pets are an extension of our family, well they are our family our fur babies. I've introduced you to our Golden retriever Bella a little while ago and she is one of the most well behaved and friendly Golden retrievers you'll ever come across.

Bella is around 8 years old now so she's starting to get a little old bur she is as healthy, lively and boisterous as ever. I tend to forget that she is a lot older than she once was.

Today was all kinds of messed up as its the Easter long weekend and everything is shut but I was awoken a number of times lastnight as Bella needed to use the bathroom. I remember thinking to myself that I hoped she was OK as it was an odd behaviour for her.

I awoke at around 7:30am and noticed she appeared to be in pain and wanted to go to the bathroom again. So I let her out and as she walked passed me she had a protrusion from her rear end.

Poor girl had a vagainal prolapse!

I immediately began calling vets but none open until 9am so rang vet hospitals but all were closed, I began to panic and once the time came again at 9a. I commenced calling all the vets I could google.

img_0.07157422732687418.jpg

Fortunately I finally found one in Werribee but they were charging public holiday rates because it's the Easter long weekend. As it was an emergency and it couldn't afford to wait I sped down in my car and rushed her in.

After a quick examination they prepped her for surgery as they were unable to push the prolapse back in and Bella had to go under and have surgery.

$1800 dollars later and 3 hrs later I had my beloved fur baby back in my arms but she will require further medical attention with a check up on Wednesday and a full blown hysterectomy to follow once swelling goes down and she heals.

She's in a bit of pain and not one that easily takes tablets so I had to get a bit crafty with her pain killers.

img_0.3089393458124294.jpg

The tablets are also sedatives to help her sleep as she is extremely energetic and loves to run around. So in order to ensure she doesn't split her stitches and cause another prolapse she will need to take it easy over the next few days as well as wear a head cone to prevent her licking the wound and tearing open the stitches.

img_0.9663699018632952.jpg

She currently doesn't look too impressed at the moment and looks to be in quite a bit of pain which hurts seeing her in this way. It's the first time anything this serious has ever occurred as she is always quite the adventurous but cautious type so I am a little anxious and fearful.

Fortunately though, she will pull through and I have a bit of cash aside to cover it but it means Easter isn't going to be as big as it was going to be.

Sort:  

These creatures are cute but very cunning🐕🐩🐾.Get well soon 🐾

They certainly are and they are lovely too ❤

Poor Bella! Get well soon, cutie! So glad you saw how much she was suffering, and got her to the vet, @melbourneswest! Your furbaby is in good hands.

Let us know how she's getting on.

Annabelle

Thank you, yes it has been quite distressing also. Hopefully she mends well and we can get back to normal.