Sunday Chicken Tales

in Hive Pets3 years ago

Yesterday my son sent me a text about a beautiful kelpie puppy in the next town. It had the same name as my nephew, Ryder, but my son argued we could call it Spider instead, and teach it to juggle chainsaws so I could earn money for my retirement. As tempting as it sounds, there's more than one reason I can't get a dog. Travel in a few years time, and leaving it at home whilst we are at work, which would suck - in fact, that's why the people were getting rid of Ryder the kelpie in the first place. Besides, kelpies aren't my husband's kind of dog - he's been pretty keen on bull arabs for a while.

So, for now we stick with chickens. Chickens you can find a good home, or a pot for. They don't need walking, and they are good listeners, though sometimes they appear not to give a cluck.

I've been loving watching the chicks grow up. It's been my most successful hatching so far. They're gold laced wyandottes and they are just visually amazing, though a bit more stand offish than the black Australorps or the Plymouth Rocks.


image.png

This one appears to have the zombie virus. I think I captured it on the turn. Oh wait - no, I think it's choking on some straw. One of those 'did you have to take a photo of me, right now, at this moment' kinda things.

image.png

If anything can make you happy, it's a fluffy chicken butt. They are just made to make you smile. I don't think chickens realise how cute their behinds are. I bet some think they're utter badass, and would be mortified to realise they are just fluffy cutenesses on two legs. There's nothing more gorgeous than a flock of chickens running off down the path shaking their fluff. Oh, by the way - is the one below on the left a rooster? I'm certain I have about three out of nine roosters, or maybe two. They move so fast it's hard to tell.

image.png

The babies aren't as friendly as my barred rocks, or Plymouths as we know them here. They're always up for a cuddle. My favourite, Mother Clucker, always asks for oats - when the others are scrabbling and scratching for whatever I've thrown them, she comes up to me as if to say: 'um, can you just give it to me in your hand?'. She's so peristant, and knows if she clucks enough, in that particular way, she'll eventually get my attention, long after the other ones have given up. The plymouths have also been mothers to the babies. They seem to stand around them protectively, as if they're responsible for them too.

image.png

Yesterday I was a bit tardy topping up their feed and boy did they accost me when I entered - I had to kinda flail my leg out to stop them jumping on me. I think they'd only been a few hours without food but they clearly thought they'd better let me know about it.

image.png

The youngsters are getting into everything at the moment. They can get through the dog fence and roam the yard, which isn't too bad as they aren't scratching as deep and hard as the bigger birds. Don't get me wrong, there is a lot of room for them in their fenced off yard, but I do like to contain them a bit as we do have foxes and they make a helluva mess in the mulch, so I generally only let them out once a week for a big wander, which of course they love.

As we've had a fox come past the window a few times over the last week, I've been extra cautious. I put out a possum cage which can trap cats but also foxes, and put some sardines in there to attract him. No fox, but what I did catch was one of the baby chickens, who was not happy. I proceeded to rescue her and take her back to the yard, which Mumma Australorp didn't like, and flew out me like a black banshee witch chicken, getting it all wrong - I was saving her baby not ripping it's head off and eating it! Sheesh.

They've been also jumping up on the herb wicking beds and eating the yarrow. I do have wire over it to protect the plants underneath but they love eating what comes through. They've also been jumping up to eat the lower hanging elderberries, which I pluck for them too if I'm feeling extra generous.

image.png

I've loved all of my chooks that I've had over the years. How beautiful is the silver laced wyandotte above? I think her feathers are even prettier than the gold one. They weren't particularly hardy though - both died in the same season. I've had Isa Browns, Rhode Island Reds, New Hampshires, Copper and Blond Marrins, Australorps, the Wyandottes and a splash Orphington - a gorgeous lavender coloured thing that got et by a fox. I can't really decide on the ones I like the best - they all have such character. I do adore the Plymouth for their gentleness - they seem so lazy and love a dust bath - but the Australorps are also such characters! I would like to try some Orphingtons too at some point, and I'd love to get more Rhode Island Red.

I'm going to need a bigger chicken coop!

Do you have chickens? Which one is your favourite?

Sort:  

बहुत खूब

बहुत खूब

Awesome sauce? Fabulous. Cheers.

One of those 'did you have to take a photo of me, right now, at this moment' kinda things.

hahaha I love that picture, it's one of the typical ones I would put on my whatsapp profile so when my call comes you can see the zombie chicken.

I love them all, I find them so sublime and wonderful, the personality of the chickens is unique. I think my dream vacation spot is next to your chickens 🤣 are all so beautiful

Well you would be welcome to come and look after my chickens any time! Haha, I know what you mean about the whatsapp - I mean, zombie chickens!

image.png

Errm, last photo of the one in your arms looks like a silver laced barnevelder to me. Or am I supposed to keep that quiet?

This is our silver laced girl (Sorry, terrible picture):

IMG_20210207_172144.jpg

I find hen raised chickens are generally less friendly than hand raised. In fact they generally hate me when hen raised! 😅

Oh yes, the one on the left is most definitely a boy.

Well, maybe it is - I was told it was a silver laced wyandotte!

The comb is wrong and she's got the double lacing, although interestingly, I think that wyandottes are the in their ancestry. That's where the lacing comes in.

Chickens , those pesky dinosaurs , feathered lizards ,... just look at there little eyes , always looking for a chance to take back world domination ... don't be fooled by there fluffy appearance , during Jurassic park they cluckled loud in support of the raptors , .. Are you sure you did this post out of free will , for chickens have good knowledge on mind-control . Just be aware i say , we already lost mister Tesla , pigeons took over total control the last years of his life . ;-)

If I read all of this, you should stick your chickens. Dogs might be awesome companions but they sure make traveling harder and are like kids, in a way ( you need to take care of them ).

Love your humor and the overall cuteness oozing from this write up.

xx

Come on River, we all know the only virus that exists now is Covid. It's cured everything else on the planet including zombie virus.

I don't have chickens, and I'm not planning to have one lol, but it really seems a funny and lovely experience!