National Pets' Day

in Hive Pets19 days ago

National Pets’ Day.png

I've been seeing all over Social Media that today is National Pet Day. There isn't any big celebration for this, but it is just to recognize how amazing our pets are. Our little family now have 4 cats. Our little furbabies came to us by batches. We brought Kalinga and Hiraya home after we rushed to their spot when we found out that they'll be thrown away because there's a person in that place that couldn't handle any more cats.

Magellan chose me to be his and his siblings' hooman one Monday morning. Right now, all 4 of them have been spayed and neutered so I am confident that they'll be healthy and won't try to go out and wander around looking around for a mate. Magellan's neuter procedure and recovery went smoothly. After a week of resting in his cage, he was up and about, and back to his usual self. Eggless, yes, but so nimble and naughty as ever.

Sungit, on the other hand encountered some complications. I did not expect her to be this feisty but she is really strong-headed and really has a mind of her own. She learned to open her cage somehow, and was able to remove her e-collar and cone, and eventually bit and removed her stitches. If you feel squeamish about big open wounds, I recommend that you move along. After she managed to remove her stitch, it got infected and she needed antibiotics.

It's a good thing there are veterinarians that really have that passion about taking care of animals - especially strays and rescues. Sungit is one of my rescues so she really is a very special cat for our family, just like all her other siblings. Right now, she's on her way to recovery. Her wound has almost completely closed up, she's still on antibiotics and still needs to be kept in her cage and strictly needs to keep her cone and e-collar at all times.

It is a full time job to take care of 1 pet, it takes a lot more to take care of 4, and still a whole lot more one they are sick. It's more challenging to figure out how they are feeling because unlike humans, they don't have any way to communicate with us but with their meows, bites, scratch, and those body rubs. Sungit is a little extra feisty especially when her wound was oozing with puss but now that all that is gone and she's on her road to recovery, she's starting to run around whenever I let her out for her feeding and potty time.

When I look at them right now, I can't help but feel how much lucky they are. Them and all those Puspins or Aspins that found a family that takes care of them and loves them. But there still are others that are left outside, under the heat of the sun, or under the rains, scouring for food on trash, always having to run and hide from kids who think they are playthings and from adults who think they are pests. I had a hard time finding adopters for my fosters. Magellan and Sungit have gone through a lot of rejections themselves. People just want those beautiful cats with thick fur and short snouts and big ears yadda yadda.

I'm fine with breed lovers, I mean it's their house, it's their choice who they want to enter, right? It's just that those animals that doesn't belong to an expensive or beautiful breed find a hard time getting adopted. They also have feelings, you know. I feel so heartbroken every time I get a no when I offered them up for adoption. Now, Magellan and Sungit are not for adoption anymore. I love them with all my heart would do everything in my power to show them just how much they mean to me.

This National Pets' day, I just like to appreciate every fur parent that chose to love their pets the moment they got them. Our pets could not communicate with us using words, sometimes we don't understand them at all, but still we love them so truly. Breed or not, they are all special. They all deserve to feel loved. They all need to be heard.

I hope that all strays find themselves a home and a family that will show them just how it is to be pampered and cared for. I hope that the animals that are victims of abuse find justice. I hope that parents teach their children to look at animals as living beings capable of understanding and feeling. We share this Earth with them, though we cannot understand their language, that doesn't mean that they don't matter.

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

!LUV it. Ngayon pala ang National Pets Day. 🐶🐩🐒🦁🫎🐯🦣🐀

Oh! I should have given my furbabies a treat for this special day. An ice cream milk flavor is best for them. Thank you for this @romeskie, nagkaka-idea ako na ngayon ay araw nila.

Lucky pets for having you as their furmom and found a home in you ma'am @romeskie

Well, the day has so little impact that I didn't hear about it either, even though pets are an essential part of our lives. I hope in the future it will be taken more into account and become a celebration. I loved that cat cover of the post, those are my favorites in the animal kingdom 😅 Happy day my friend!...

It takes one who loves animals to decide to be a veterinary doctor so kudos to everyone in that lane. We love them and we love our pets too. For every part who has already become a member of a family, kudos to them too