Sungit's Full Recovery

in Hive Pets15 days ago

Sungit's Recovery.png

Out of all the 4 cats we had spayed and neutered, Sungit was the only one who had complications. Her wound swelled up, developed puss, and opened up a few days after her procedure. As a fur parent, this had me so worried. And extra busy. I had to dress her wound, watch her closely to make sure she doesn't remove her cone and e-collar, and I had to give her antibiotics every 12 hours.

I also had to listen to her cues so that I know if she wants to pee or poop. Most cats only like using their litter boxes for their potty. While some just do their business while they're in the cage, our feisty little Sungit likes to just hold her pee or poo until I let her out. If I don't let her out regularly, she might develop other sicknesses so I had to make sure that before she is put back to her cage, she has done her businesses already. Otherwise, she'll just be annoyingly loud the whole time.

I told my husband I am squeamish when it comes to wounds like this but with this little one, it was like a natural thing for me to do. I cleaned her wounds with saline water and betadine, cleaned her face as much as she'd allow me, wiped her behind, etc. Yes, cats are independent animals, they don't need the extra care I am giving her during her ordeal but I'd like to make sure she recovers really quickly. I can actually see some defiance in her eyes whenever I wipe her face and body.

I don't really mind it. I love taking care of her. Well, because she has slowly crawled into a really big space in my heart and decided to camp there. But I think I may have also captured her heart too. I noticed that when she is outside of her cage these past few days, (I gave her more roaming time now because her wound is already closed up but still needs some monitoring) she would choose to lie down beside me while I read or crochet. She'd follow me around while I do my chores and would meow really loudly when I close the bathroom door.

The funny thing is when I feel warmed up by her actions and I decide to pet her, she would allow me one or two strokes then she'd be back to her usual feisty self again. She would give me one sharp look and then would walk away.

The main reason why she had complications after her spay procedure was because she was so restless inside the cage, I think her wound might have hit something in there. So I let her out and the moment she was out, she was quick to remove her cone and e-collar and then licked her stitch. She was the only pet we had that was like that. All the rest just slept and rested until they recovered.

But during Sungit's medication period, she is the only one of my pets that were easy to give medicine too. Hiraya and Kalinga always puts up a fight. Magellan would spit out his medicine once he gets his chance. But Sungit, she even reminded me one time that it was her medicine time already. She was meowing and was smelling the box of her antibiotic that had fallen from the table. I had prepared it already but I got sidetracked with all the other chores I was doing, I forgot that I had to give her the medicine.

Now, she's already outside of her cage. She jumps up and down already again. Her appetite was back to normal. I got worried last week because her weight dropped really low. She couldn't eat because of her wound. Now, she's back to her naturally feisty self. She's the last of our pets to be spayed so after this, I'll see how I can do TNVR to the strays we are feeding.

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

Buti naman at gumagaling na si Sungit. Medyo mahirap talaga pag spay, madami talagang complications tulad nung sa nangyari kay Sungit. Hindi katulad pag castrate na halos walang dugo. Anyway, I am so glad na na-spay na siya. Her chances of having pyometra is low or halos wala na. I also want to say that you are an inspiration to me when it comes to pet ownership. Truly, you are a responsible pet owner. ❤️❤️❤️

Tatlo ang female cats namin pero sya lang talaga ang ubod ng kulit kaya nakutkot nya yung sugat nya. But now she's back to her old self. Masungit na ulit pero humahabol habol na sa in. Na inlove na siguro sya sa kin. Hahaha

Sungit’s health is getting better very fast because of the help you have rendered. Also, why does she not pee or poo until you let it out? It means she does not want to make the house dirty. Am I right about that?

All my cats roam free around the house and they have a litter box where they do their business. When they're sick and needs to be isolated, they stay in their cage. There's a catch tray for their pee and poo in there but they really just like their litterbox. Cats are just so clean like that. :)

I have two cats myself and they have to be protected, vaccinated and cared for when they are sick, so I love them too.