A Bunch of Geckos

PSX_20221201_174205.jpg
I went to the petstore for some crickets for my spiders and noticed some geckos for sale.

PSX_20221201_174131.jpg
Most geckos are nocturnal so I rarely ever see them in their active state at the petstore.

PSX_20221201_174101.jpg
These leopard geckos are quite common as pets.

PSX_20221201_173916.jpg
Look at this weird one, I'm not sure what species this is. It was fairly large too.

PSX_20221201_173607.jpg
This one basically looks like a leopard gecko but it has stripes instead of spots. Quite a tiny guy too.

PSX_20221201_173735.jpg
Here's a crested gecko.

PSX_20221201_173836.jpg
These guys used to be endangered until the pet enthusiasts started breeding them. Now they are common but still quite expensive.

PSX_20221201_173950.jpg
I think this one might be a tokay but its colors are too drab so who knows if it might be some other species. Tokays are quite mean and pet stores often sell them for almost nothing as they will bite their owners lol.

PSX_20221201_173804.jpg
Geckos are a fun and easy pet. They are one of the few lizards that make sounds. The only annoying thing is they will poop up the glass of their enclosures as they can crawl on glass with their sticky hands.

PSX_20221201_173653.jpg
When handling them never pick them up by their tail. As a defense mechanism they can detach their tail, this guy looks like he grew back his tail after losing it.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

Some of them are actually quite cute. What do they feel like to the touch?

kind of like skin and their hands are a bit sandpapery.

Sounds nice, I could work with this :)

They make hilarious noises too

Ohh, a hit like a cat who wants to fight 😂 So you can’t play with them like pets? 😔

They get tame after a while and don't really squeek like that as much once they get used to you.

Ahh, I see. I bit like hamsters then 😉

Aawww what a cuties… love seeing geckos. So many different kinds this store had.
I had some under the terrace roof, they kept away nasty bugs and mosquitos when I lived up in the mountains.

I had tiny little transparent ones the size of a large ant in my college dorms back in Arizona. I thought they were insects at first, I was surprised something so tiny and translucent could survive the AZ heat. They must have been babies at that size. Some people I know in Hawaii like geckos inside their house to take care of roaches lol.

Wow, so tiny… that’s really cute. One would think they would be more protected in the AZ heat.
Maybe just born… tiny.
Yes, I know. They help so well with bad insects at homes.
Have a great day and weekend 👋🏻😊

Woah interesting about the tail, I never knew about that. Some local breeder offered me s green gecko when he needs to minimized the number of pets in his enclusure, I still hesitant that time for the prices of pet still expensive. But after kwowing about the tail, I am bit more curious now, lol. I shall wait until he bargains.

Green geckos are quite cute and docile as a pet, it would be worth the price if you can get one.

Wow I didn't know these little animals could be so interesting, they are cute in their own way and they are so exotic, it reminded me of the time a neighbor had a pet snake, I don't remember what species it was, but everyone used to say it was kind of dangerous, lol. I think they loved each other and that's what mattered haha.

Greetings! :D

I've had a few pet snakes over the years too. I used to catch rattlesnakes in the desert to relocate them away from my house, I never kept one of those as a pet though too dangerous.

Haha I knew you had something to do with snakes XD


Here's a couple I saw in AZ last time I was there. These ones are pets though at a educational center.

Unbelievable! :0

Interesting about the tail. I hadn't thought of that even though I remember chasing little lizards and their tail pulling off. Such nice color I can see why they are popular pets.

That happened to my sister when she caught a lizard as a child. She though she maimed it for life lol.

No me imagino teniendo un gecko de mascota jaja, me gusta ver algunos en casa ya que ellos se comen los insectos molestos, pero me dan cierto miedo y asco, los dejo vivir sus vidas, los admiro de lejos, pero sin acercarme.

Me gustó ver tus fotografías, están muy lindos estos geckos los de la tienda que visitaste, gracias por compartir 🤗

I can't imagine having a pet gecko haha, I like to see some at home since they eat annoying insects, but they give me a certain fear and disgust, I let them live their lives, I admire them from afar, but without getting close.

I liked seeing your pictures, these geckos from the store you visited are very cute, thank you for sharing 🤗

The only scary geckos are tokay geckos. Those guys are pretty aggressive and like to bite lol.

Amazing!

They are fun critters. I want to get the giant caledonian gecko one day, laziest lizard around.

They are so cool! I want one for myself)

lots of cool geckos. i can't call them pets exactly but our house in india has a number of common ones in residence. they are welcome as they feed on mosquitoes and other insects, most of which are less welcome. we aren't there for the time being so i hope they have the place to themselves...

Hope they keep the place safe from insects. Do they ever squeak at you?

yeah sometimes but mostly they are totally silent. it always amazes me how they can sneak up on the insects without being noticed