A Trip to the Fish Store

in Hive Pets2 years ago

PSX_20220811_072219.jpg
I usually have to go to this fish store about once a month to sell off some of my guppies. All the fish at the store are quite curious about visitors like this bright blue guy.

PSX_20220811_071546.jpg
This little clown fish was getting massaged by the coral. I always see them hanging around these coral plants perhaps for a hiding spot and to get massaged lol.

PSX_20220811_072353.jpg
This guy looks pretty dangerous. The lionfish has venomous barbs that can sting. This one is domesticated so I wonder if it would sting or just beg for food.

PSX_20220811_072652.jpg
Lots of coral is for sale here. I wonder how profitable it would be to raise coral and sell it to pet stores? Perhaps the hardest work would be to keep the salt water levels perfect.

PSX_20220811_072545.jpg
Now for some freshwater fish. I was interested in this barb mouthed pleco on the right. I'm not sure what the other guy is...

PSX_20220811_072739.jpg
This particular store specializes in lots of species of cichlids.

PSX_20220811_071824.jpg
Cichlids are very curious and will come up to the edge of the tank to look at you.

PSX_20220811_071909.jpg
I have read that they are able to remember faces. Perhaps this one thought I was there to feed it but then swam off after realizing I wasn't the food guy.

PSX_20220811_072044.jpg
These guys wanted a piece of the potential food action. Poor things all think I am there to feed them. I suspect they might have been eyeing my bag of guppies lol.

PSX_20220811_071948.jpg
I liked the stripes on these guys. They seem to all be the same species with different colors.

PSX_20220811_071731.jpg
Here is a blue version, perhaps they are rainbow cichlids.

PSX_20220811_071634.jpg
These guys almost remind me of a piranha but I think they might also be a type of cichlid. Very bright and silvery.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

I've always like clown fish and lion fish. Interesting you sell your guppies to store. I bred guppies for a bit and there were always so many. I just kept the pretty ones.

Yeah I have three tanks one is the throwback tank of ugly ducklings and then there's the main breeding tank and I also have a separate tank for a different type of guppy but they keep eating their own babies lol. I put evergreen moss in there for the fry to hide in so hopefully I'll get more of those type to sell to the petstore. During the pandemic the fish store took off as everyone was locked down looking for hobbies.

I used a tube suctioning off water like a vaccuum to catch the baby guppies before mom or dad ate them lol I tried plants but just getting them out of the tank as quick as possible worked best for me.

That's a good strategy, for some reason the main breeding tank the parents don't really eat the fry of course it is a bit larger so maybe the extra room gives more hiding places for the fry.

Loving these shots ... what a great idea for a photo shoot. I may flatter you later(copy). There is a great store in Vancouver that may get a rainy day trip from me soon:)

Fish stores are really fun especiallywhen they have saltwater. It can turn into an expensive hobby quickly though. Maybe I can quit my day job and raise stingrays for pet stores someday lol.

Your bottom fish are Silver Dollars, Metynnis argenteus and they are related to Piranhas and Pacu. Your pale fish next to the pleco is a cichlid too. All your rainbow types look like various Lake Malawi cichlid species.
When I was breeding fish, I found that excluding the parents is the best way to save the fry. Fry are delicate and don't like being moved to tanks where the water conditions are different so you either leave them where they were born and catch the parents and put them elsewhere or make some kind of netting partition for the tank

Yeah its tricky they seem to give birth while I'm at work then I notice they are no longer pregnant and there are no fry in the tank either. Crazy canniballistic guppies. For some reason it only seems to happen in my smaller tank, the bigger tank the fry survive well.

Now that silver dollar name rings a bell, the cichlids are quite diverse in their shapes and coloring. My favorites are the red devils.

More space does seem to reduce the cannibalistic instincts in fish

I guess I also have dragon guppies in the other tank, I wonder if they are more aggressive.

the fish store at your place sounds amazing that they have these lots of species 😃 i've only ever taken care of beta fishes and gold fishes during my childhood so this place is such a treat 😄 thank you for sharing about this!
126142317_733047824288474_7710528549971745009_n.jpg
https://d.buzz
!ALIVE

@sketch.and.jam! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ilovewintergem. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.