February 29th - The story of Ares

in Hive Pets3 years ago

Hello there everyone 😊

I was wondering. Do you have any customs, traditions or maybe celebrations on leap day in your country?

In Croatia this day isn’t considered as any special day, it is just a date added to a leap year. But for me, February 29th of 2020. was one memorable day.

It was Saturday morning, my girlfriends working day. I woke up on the sound off hers alarm and I felt really refreshed. I thought to myself, why waste such a beautiful Saturday on sleeping, I should get up when I already feel rested and seize the day. But first coffee!

IMG-20210416-WA0006-01.jpeg

So, I was sitting with my girlfriend in café bar near her job, just enjoying beautiful sunny morning (which is a rare thing to catch sun rays here in Croatia in February) drinking coffee and making plans about my day while she is on work. Just minutes before she needed to leave we spot a little puppy wobbling on the street. The cars were moving and this puppy struggled to avoid them, you could see from the distance how small and lost was him. I run towards him and stopped the cars on
the street, he was just so little the drivers couldn’t see him. I picked him up and came back to the bar, we gave him water and some leftovers of our breakfast.

IMG-20210416-WA0002-02.jpeg

He didin’t have collar on him but he was just too beautiful to be a street dog. I rushed to the vet’s office with him to check for his microchip. But there wasn’t any. And the vet estimeted he was bearly two months old. I couldn’t believe my eyes, who could have left such a gorgeous little puppy out on it’s own. Then it crossed my mind that maybe he escaped from somewhere and because of his small age he wasn’t microchipped yet. The vet offered to call our local animal shelter for him, but my heart just wouldn’t let him go. I offered to take care of him (there is a law here in Croatia that regulates ownership of dogs, if the dog doesn’t have microchip which is obligated, a two weeks must pass in order for you to adopt a dog found on a street) and to post on every social media about him in case he already has an owner.

IMG_20200307_213448_760.jpg

slika u autu-01.jpeg

We came home together. I felt connection with him immediately. But there were some issues that needed to be handled. I live in a big household with my big family, and unfortunately not everyone was pleased to see a new puppy. Especially when we already have two dogs, Crumbs and Spots (in my maternal language: Mrvica and Flekica)

mrva i fleka-02.jpeg

This two gals are queens of our backyard, twelve year old Pekinese and ten years old Bischon.

Mine main issue at this moment was getting sure that this three dogs get along. And for a great surprise they hit off instantly.
psi skupa-01.jpeg

Next thing to do was getting approval from my parents. Since I live with them I try my best to honor their decisions resolving our household. They were sceptic at first, they know how big of responsibility dog can be and they didn’t want to end up with the third dog on their back. But with a lot of persuasion they granted my wish to keep this little pup. Today, he is their dog as much as he is mine, he just spreads love through my entire family and everyone loves him.

Even though two weeks haven’t passed, I already made up my mind that this dog is going to be mine. I was just hoping that nobody would contacted me saying he owns this pup.

ares i ja-01.jpeg

My girlfriend and I started to think about names the very first day we found him. We both love Greek mythology and agreed to call him after a Greek god. But which one? What name does fit him well and goes along with his character, and then it hit us, Ares. When we said it to him first time, he tilted his little head, it looked like he was giving us approval of this name. And from that moment he was our Ares.

mocna slika-01.jpeg

Hope you liked this post.

HAVE A NICE DAY!

20200313_212224.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @strba! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.
You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Man... this thing make my day. I love but really really love when someone take dogs from streets, thanks to you and thanks to your parents for saving another life.

btw I laugh when I saw the picture of your other to dogs hahaha and the other pic where you show the three of them on the stair, they look now so gangsta lol

I am glad I made your day! Saving him was the best thing ever, he is true love :) they truly are a real gang!

I am happy you took the time to help that pup. He looks so smart, and is a very good looking dog. It was so awesome that you saved his life.