Memories From The Tender Years

in Indiaunited29 days ago (edited)

As little kids back then, we didn't have so much control of our lives as we do now as adults. Most of the things we did then were things decided by our parents, and we were expected to go along with whatever they thought was the best thing for us to do. We had little to no choices on personal matters, it's either Mom said to do it that way or Dad did. We were okay with it because they were the ones who birthed us, so there was not point arguing or whining about anything because it yielded little to no results.

When I was younger, my mom used to be the one to pick out clothes for me. If there was an occasion or anything, she knew what she wanted me to wear to it. When it comes to shopping for my personal items, she was always the ones to choose what color, style or design the item would be. If we were to head over to the tailor's shop, I already know I'm not supposed to say "I want this style or that",as long as Mom is there, I'm covered.


I really didn't have a problem with that until I started growing. It kind of became harder to go with whatever my Mom decides for me. I'll complain each time my mom picks out a dress for me, especially if I feel like I have better options. Maybe I saw one of my friends wearing a pink outfit and it appealed to me because Barbie used to be my favorite show, and it was pink themed. I would want to wear an pink outfit to where ever we would be going, but my mom will not allow it because every occasion has its own dress code which I didn't understand then.


When it's time to make a new dress, I would want pick out the style I wanted myself, the color and the length of the dress. My Mom didn't always say a definite no to my choices, she would always try to explain to me why she thinks her own choice is better than mine. Sometimes I listen, other times I get so stubborn and will have to be forced to comply.


Source

I figured out complaining every time will get me nowhere, I just had to remain obedient and it paid off. You wouldn't imagine how happy I was when my Mom called me that fateful day and told me from that day forward, she is going to stop picking out clothes for me or deciding on other personal matters like where I wanted to spend my holidays or even go for visits. As long as what I choose is good and acceptable, I was free to go with it. It was like a dream come true.


You might wonder why something as petty as that was a big deal for me. The truth is, I wanted to feel independent and responsible for at least one thing in my life. I wanted a chance to show everyone that I am now a big girl, I didn't need mom to keep doing things for me. My mom's thoughts also guided when making my own choices. I already knew what she would say about the choice of clothes that I wanted to wear out. I knew she would frown at mismatched colors and some odd styles, so I kept that in mind when planning for a dress to wear. Over time, I grew more and became more matured and capable of making right personal decisions without having anyone watching my back.


Anyways, it's just a random memory of how I took little steps to independence as child. The adult life has so much to offer, there'll always be a lot of things to decide on and it's only right we own up our responsibility without having to wait for someone to tell us exactly what to do.
Thanks for reading!
Cover Image Here

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

You might wonder why something as petty as that was a big deal for me. The truth is, I wanted to feel independent and responsible for at least one thing in my life. I wanted a chance to show everyone that I am now a big girl, I didn't need mom to keep doing things for me. My mom's thoughts also guided when making my own choices.

It's a good idea too. But, the love of a mother is immeasurable. 😊

Congratulations @empressjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

This post has been manually curated by @pravesh0 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @pravesh0 by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.