Paul - The Main Character

in Indiaunited5 months ago

“Hey Yo!! Haven’t seen you in a while.” inuke asked me while munching on the chocos I bought for my son.
“Put that down,” I ordered him.
“Why!!! He doesn’t like this stuff. And it will go bad.” inuke took a couple of choco chips from the packet and popped it into his mouth.
I ignored him and went back to doing nothing. Been trying to come up with a story that @sayee posted a couple of days ago.
“What is paaffft?” inuke asked almost choking on the chocos.
“Huh!!” I wondered what he meant by paaffft.
“That... I mean that.” Inuke answered pointing towards sayee’s post the story on the screen.

Inuke pulled a chair and sat beside me.
“Now I know why he dislikes this stuff. It is too dry.” Putting down the chocos on the table.
“You are supposed to add milk to it. Read the instructions on the back.” I advised.

“Oh!!! Never mind. What is the story about?” Inuke asked.
“It's a contest Sayee is hosting, where I or anyone can finish the story she started. And the story is about a troubled couple who along with some friends abducted a kid and now looking for a way out.” I explained.
“Wait. Hold On... Where does it say they are looking for a way out?” inuke asked.
“No. No, that's the direction I am thinking of taking the story. I mean Paul and his wife panicked and released the hostage. They should be looking for a way out. Right?” I asked.
“You are free to take whatever direction you want. I am interested in why Paul would look for a way out.” Inuke asked me a question. Sometimes I wonder why I even bother asking him anything because he will always ask something crazy back.
“I don’t understand your question,” I replied.
“So Paul is your central character. Right. He wants to do something and he chickens out. The end. Is that your story?”
“Well, it sounds terrible when you put it that way,” I answered.
“Because it is terrible. What kind of Main character just runs away like that?” inuke got a little angry at this point.

“Well, it is not like Paul is aiming for an Oscar or Nobel prize. The dude kidnaps kids for money. That is a crime. And that is why he is running away, to avoid getting caught and sentenced. That makes sense to me.” I replied.
“What’s the title? ‘Paul - A failed Kidnapper’. Bro, you are not writing a biography of Paul. You are writing a story. If you are going to treat Paul like a criminal and not like a Main character. I don’t think it is a story worth telling.” Inuke explained.
“Ok!!!” I paused for a while and asked “But is it correct to justify a crime?”
“You are not justifying anything, you are simply saying that this is what happened. Are you able to differentiate them? I am not asking you to make Paul a hero, Let him be the criminal, Let him be the kidnapper. Let him be the most wanted person in the entire world. But Let him tell the story, even if he is running away from the Police. Which seems like a bad story to me. Give the reason. Introduce the readers to the fear of Police.” Inuke replied with a monologue, I don’t know what is with this guy and stories that get him this excited
“Hmm. I think this is a good approach to the ending. But out of curiosity. How would you end the story?” I asked inuke.
“Well, After the failed attempt. I will have him motivated. You see kidnapping as a crime, but I will make it the only option for Paul. I would have him and his team work more intensively and be more careful with the next attempt only to fail again. Let his team fall apart and people leave him and the plan. Let Paul and his wife get pregnant. I will introduce nightmares. Will make Paul miserable. And the fear of being away from family motivates him to search for a way of living.” Inuke elaborated his plans for Paul.
“Ah!! Man, that's twisted. You want people to feel sorry for Paul.” I reacted to inuke’s approach.
“Not necessarily. I want people to feel for Paul. I want them to be angry, sad and at times happy for Paul. It is a story of Paul's transformation from Kidnapper to…” Inuke paused. “Not kidnapper. I still haven't thought of ending. But I want Paul to have something.”
“That is an interesting take. But I think Paul may end up in prison ultimately.” I put forth my opinion.
“I want to give him a happy ending. Let him reform and start somewhere. Let Paul have his redemption. Why would he go to Prison? ” Inuke looked a little confused.
“With Police Involved in the situation, I don’t think Paul will last long,” I informed inuke about the Kerala Police involvement in the situation the story prologue is fictional but the kidnapping of a girl was a real incident.
“Yup, I agree with you... Paul is F**ked”

Hi everyone,
I am inuke. To be fair. I did tried writing the story. But couldn't. It was falling apart. So decided to do this instead. I am not sure what this is. But for now this is all I have. If you are wondering why I wasnt online for two weeks. Blame cyclone michaung. Chennai was badly hit and it took almost a week here for the Power to be back. The other week I was just slacking off. See you in my next post, blog, story, hopefully soon. Take Care.

Heres the link for the @sayee 's post lot of entries are there to read, Have fun.

Before I go, Would like to thank IndiaUnited and BeAwesome community for all the love and support. Really cool communities. Check it out.

image.png

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @alokkumar121 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @alokkumar121 by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 10.31% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

Your content has been manually curated by sagarkothari88
Upvote recommended by @bhattg as part of Encouragement Program
Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️

I am glad I was able to push you to write. I do hope you write fiction again. Thanks for taking part in the contest.

Congratulations @inuke! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 150 LEO on Leo Power Up Day!
Thank you for participating in the Leo challenge.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2023