Surviving Inflation and Hard times , my coping mechanism and Escape Routes

in Indiaunited2 months ago

Hello Hive

Screenshot_20240403-080401.jpg

Canva designed image

In recent times everyone is struggling to pass by everyday, getting a regular meal now seems to be a miracle as nothing comes easy anymore. While it is true that inflation is affecting so many countries of the world I believe that the severity differs from country to country. In underdeveloped world like ours it has gotten so bad that getting at least one meal in a day no longer seem feasible. I stepped out to write about this one more time because of the recent happenings around me. Just yesterday a neighbor of mine tuned in unto me to help her with anything to feed her children with. Nothing that these young kids of 5 and 8years haven't had anything to eat for the last 48hrs and the last cup of garri (Cassava flakes has been exhausted) How is that even possible that children of such age have spent the last 48hrs hungry.
I had some foodstuff at home from my last harvest and spared her some of the foods I can .

Stepping out of the house again, I haven't gone anywhere far before another youth of about my age asked me for financial support and also narrated about how he hasn't eating for almost 3days now. At this point I was already heartbroken and gave him the last 1k naira fiat I had in me. Things are really happening out here and because I have ben able to afford for my basic needs I haven't felt the severity of the heat of this inflation.

Having studied these two people who came for financial support I noticed that one thing is common with both of them. The both survive on daily income earned from their menial jobs with no additional source of income.
One of them is a drycleaner while the other is a teacher earning about $8 monthly. How can anyone survive on that amount. This was when I had a deep thought about my life and how well I have copped in the face of this challenges.

My life as a Farmer

Growing my food has been one of the greatest support I have ever had.
Most of the food harvested from my farms often lasted for about 6-8months before we visit the market again. I grow both grains and tubers and at harvest you can see some large quantities of food in my storage. The only items we often purchase from the market are seasonings and meat.

IMG-20240403-WA0005.jpg

IMG-20240403-WA0001.jpg

Recently I also states growing some gardens to assist with our peppers and vegetable needs except for the unavailability of water source to keep the garden going, growing our meals has drastically reduced the budgets and huge monies we would have been needing to feed my family.
My two friends above aren't farmers and I can imagine how much money they would need to constantly purchase food from the market

IMG-20240403-WA0002.jpg

My Job as a Seamstress

The role of skill acquisition cannot be ruled out in our current situation. Been a seasmtress earns me some side income every now and then. Sometimes all you need is your brain to create and sell something beautiful. Compared to a trader who buys items at low price and seek to sell it before taking out profit, all I need is to get my hands to work, not much capital is needed once I have my machines all set up.
Making clothes for myself and family also saved me from the need of having to go purchase any of such from the market.

IMG-20240403-WA0004.jpg

Blogging on Hive

One of the greatest privileges and opportunity we can avail ourselves is to get online jobs. Technology really holds the key to the future now and various tech skills on the internet provides quality source of income for us. Blogging on hive has opened doors to so many people and I cannot overlook the system of support available here.

Aside all of these I do not hesitate to engage in other small jobs and side hustles I find within my immediate community here.
Sometimes when there is need for hand for community service with/without payments I often join the team to expand my network believing that this will open more financial opportunities for me in the future.

In final conclusion we cannot sit down with a single job in the face a harsh economy and expect to survive in the peanuts paid by our government as salary.Having diverse source of income from multiple jobs often reduces the impact of inflation on citizens and from this script we can see just how much this has been my personal breakthrough and support systems.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

A proverbs 31 woman who smiles at the future and extends her hand to the poor. Bless the Most High!

Thank you so much for this.
I read the whole chapter and it blessed my heart.

https://inleo.io/threads/monica-ene/re-leothreads-2fj5fru74
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( monica-ene ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

I like the part about sometimes needing our brain to create and sell something beautiful. I think adapting to our current times will require using our brain more to find new ways of bringing in income outside of traditional means.

Exactly, thank you so much for really through.
I really appreciate your engagement here.

It's a pitty to see that one needs several jobs to come by. It's also great to see that hive can contribute to your income.


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project! Check out our Reading Suggestions posts! Comment Footer.jpg Please consider voting for our Liotes HIVE Witness. Thank you!

Exactly thank you so much.
Hive has really supported me.

You are hard-working, the situation of our country has demanded us to not only rely on just one source of income.

Exactly babe.
Hope you are doing well...

We are surviving