India United weekly contest #6 - My Inspiration

in Indiaunited26 days ago

It was a serene afternoon in my neighborhood, just a month after I had graduated from high school. I was still basking in the euphoria of newfound freedom, unsure of what the future held. That's when I bumped into a familiar face, a man I had known for years but never had the chance to get close to. He was a bank manager, and I had always admired his professionalism and success from afar.

As we exchanged pleasantries, I couldn't help but feel a sense of envy. He had achieved what I could only dream of at that point a stable career, respect, and financial security. But something about him sparked my interest that afternoon. Maybe it was the way he carried himself with confidence or the passion with which he spoke about his work. Whatever it was, it ignited a fire within me, and I found myself drawn to the field of accounting.

I began to ask him questions, eager to learn more about his journey and the secrets to his success. He shared his story with me, from his early days as an accountant to his rise through the ranks to become a bank manager. His passion for numbers and financial analysis was contagious, and I found myself getting swept up in the conversation.


Source

As we parted ways, I couldn't shake off the feeling that I had stumbled upon something special. I began to research accounting, devouring books, and online resources to learn more about the field.

Something I achieved that surprised me was I got an accounting textbook, Frankwood to be precise, started studying it from the first topic till the last, attempted all the working exercises in all chapters and it all seemed so easy. Even as a science student, I was able to achieve this without any prior knowledge of accounting or any teacher to put me through. I discovered a new passion, and soon, I was hooked.

I decided to pursue a degree in accounting, much to the surprise of my friends and family. They had always known me as a science enthusiast, but I couldn't ignore the calling I had felt that afternoon. I threw myself into my studies, determined to succeed.

The journey wasn't easy, didn't get exactly what I wanted for my course of study. Instead of pure accounting, I was admitted to studying Education and Accountancy.
I worked hard and networked with professionals in the field. Before I knew it, I was graduating with very good grades.


The image was taken with my Tecno Camon camera

Looking back, I realize that chance encounter was a turning point in my life. It opened my eyes to a new possibility, and I seized it with both hands. Today, I'm a successful Financial Accounting teacher with many years of experience, already completed two master's degrees and aspire to begin my doctoral degree and get a lecturing job. And I owe it all to that faithful afternoon when I bumped into a man who inspired me to pursue my dreams.

In a world where we're constantly bombarded with choices and uncertainties, it's easy to get lost. But sometimes, all it takes is a chance encounter to set us on the right path. And for that, I'll always be grateful.

This is my participation in the Indiaunited weekly contest #6 and the link to the contest can be found below:

https://peakd.com/hive-197685/@indiaunited/indiaunited-weekly-contest-6-theme-your-inspiration-and-winner-announcement-of-previous-contest

Sort:  

One way or the other, we are destined to meet that one person who will elevate and change our thinking in all aspects of life.

May our destiny helper never pass over🙏
Thank God for that afternoon 👍

That day opened a path for me, I thank God I followed through. Thanks for reading.

You are welcome

This post has been manually curated by @pravesh0 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @pravesh0 by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.