Earning Income as a child

in Indiaunited3 months ago

money-back-up-4518407_1280.jpg
source

This contest topic took my mind back to 2012 when I lost my dad,
My dad left us when we were very little and that lead us to start working in other to help our mom.

We used to sell some items for my mom like pure water, cooked corn, fruits depending on the season but that was after school time ,
All the profits goes to my mom but at the end of the day, she would give us a little amount as an appreciation and that alone was my motivation.

IMG_20230605_090502_852.jpg

Those little amount was used to buy biscuits, sweets , milk and my sweet bobo drink s and I felt like a big girl😁 because then I was richer than most of my peers and I had friends who would come to help me with my house chores and in return I would buy them something,
That's how funny those days were.

As time goes on, I device a means to earn by own income while helping my mom .

One of my neighbors was into beading of hair bands, a very fanciful and beautiful hair band and needed extra hands,
As a sharp and Industrial girl I agreed to be the helping hand and in return she would pay me.

If I successfully bead 12 hair bands which is a dozen, she would pay me 30 Nigeria naira, before the day runs out I will bead about ten dozens or more (my mom and little siblings would help me).

after some time I graduated from buying just sweets and biscuits for myself to buying clothes and footwears.

I did start earning money at a very tender age around 13 or 14years .
I could still remember the first cloth my mom bought for me with my money (she saves my money for me),

I gave her about two thousand Nigerian note (1.50 HBd) that I saved from beading hairbands to get me many clothes from the market, l was expecting a big bag full of clothes but she came back with just one gown claiming it was foreign and foreign clothes were expensive (I never asked for foreign clothes oo I only asked for local beautiful clothes),
I felt bitter and cheated because I didn't make that money in a day , it took me several weeks to make that amount and I can't spend it on just one cloth.

IMG_20231231_181648_064.jpg

I cared less about the fact that it was foreign and I refused to wear the cloth but that taught me a very good lesson, next time I want to buy clothes, I would accompany my mom to the market and select the ones I want, abeg I don't want stories that touches the heart 🤣🤣🤣.

Earning those little coins at that young age made me very happy, I was loved by all my peers and everyone wanted to be my friend because I would always buy stuffs like suya, soft drinks and the rest of them to enjoy with anyone that is available at that moment.
Earning money is like earning respect and I enjoyed those days though it wasn't easy but profit was my motivation.

20230417_163225.jpg

Thanks for reading till the end
yours faithfully : yummycruz

alL Photos are mine except the first image sourced from pixabay

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @yummycruz1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Nne I remember those days o, it was not easy sha, but I enjoyed the fun freedom given to us to make money at that young age