Maize Challenge 2022: #5 Seeds

in Hagro2 years ago


While my corn is growing, there is little I can do other than sporadic weeding, watering and taking pictures:


IMG_20220612_181328.jpg


Corn Varieties 🌽

I have planted Golden Bantam sweet corn.
I understand most of the world's corn production is not of the sweet variety.

I would like to try other varieties, but:

  • I do not have the facilities for milling flour
  • I can not store the product
  • I do not want to cross-pollinate

Homozygous Seeds

I bought homozygous seeds, specifically.
Normally, I would buy heterozygous (aka hybrid aka F1) seeds.
Hybrids usually only have advantages compared to their homozygous parents, except one:

Producing Seeds

Having a homozygous (aka P) genome and breeding it with itself means I can harvest quality seeds for next year.
... which is exactly what I am trying to do.
That is why I can only have this single variety, so I can avoid any cross-breeding.


IMG_20220522_095510aaa.jpg


Mendel's Laws

I do not want to use this post to showcase my understanding of Mendel's Laws.
Instead I would like to ask how it is at all possible that I bought Golden Bantam F1 last year.
To create a uniform F1, you'd need 2 different P genomes, which can not both be Golden Bantam (?)

I am honestly confused.

I assume, it was Golden Bantam + X hybrid, and they did not bother to mention, which other genome they bred with.

For the challenge

If you have not already mentioned it:

Which variety are you growing in 2022 and why?


Part 4: Germination
Part 3: Planting
Part 2: Preparations
Part 1: My Location

Maize Challenge 2022

#mc2022

Sort:  

Stock photo!

Turns out corn is growing everywhere atm

Probably for Bio gas

Biogas? 🤔

In germany for example
Like easily 95% of all corn you see on field will go into facilities to be burned and turned into Gas.

Not really efficient, but subventionised.
Also you need something to "farm" to kill the fields.

Right

Make sense now

Well here we actually eat them, lol

lol

eating is for the poor!

also, I'm not even sure if you could eat them - or if they are too biologically and genetically overengineered :/ ... to grow fast for biogas

Sick burn 🥲

Ours are natural

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Spätestens seit CRISPR sind die Mendelschen Gesetze doch etwas überholbar?

Para mí esa es la mejor parte no dejar crecer la maleza mientras nuestras plantas de Maíz crecen. Esas semillas parecen de calidad aquí en Venezuela si venden algunas parecidas pero esa es una gran diferencia ya que las semillas que utilizamos son extraídas de otras plantas. Feliz nueva semana