Why did the government of Quebec (and Canada) failed the education system

in Unschooling8 months ago (edited)

The education system news are crazy in Canada

Not enough teachers by a large margin. Bad grades. Exhausted teachers. Unhappy kids.

image.png
stable diffusion image

What the hell is wrong?

And it's been years! You know when you see people watch a problem get bigger and don't try to fix anything because they firmly believe it will be fixed automagically? - yes that's my favorite word.

Well what happens is the problem only gets harder to fix. A nice way to illustrate it is with programming. I can write bad code for something simple, but you never know if the simple problem will get more complex over time. So if I keep on writing bad code, with time, the code will be a mess and the only way I will have left, will be to completely rewrite it.

But governments rarely rewrites anything. What is there is there to stay because of many factors I won't get into in this post.

image.png
stable diffusion image

It's hard

Yup. It takes time and motivation and an actual desire to do so.

Home schooling to the rescue

Hardly. I'm currently having a lot of problem with the current laws surrounding home schooling. Especially in Quebec where they are trying to make it completely illegal by adding more and more rules as to how we should teach our children. They could fix their system so that I want my children to use it, but instead they spend our hard earned money to "protect" my kids? I don't know a lot of home schooling families that don't do it because they love of their kids.

Plus let's not forget:

  • Lack of Support and Resources
  • Stringent Regulations
  • Limited Recognition
  • Bias Against Homeschooling
  • Inflexible Educational System

All the right ingredients to make a messy society.
I hope they wake up soon, it's already a disaster, but it can still be fixed. The problem is I don't see any steps going towards that right now with the government in place.

Pray?

I'm not religious, but seriously thinking about it right now.
May the force be with us.

Sort:  

So I can vote your post instead. There is no system in hive to school people on how they engage people.

No sadly you can't vote after 7 days. I do think there are some FAQ available on Hive?

There is a reblog function in peakd that a lopw the reblog to receive vote. I don't know the detail, I didn't go to hive school 🤪

Here's the info:

  • Payout and rewards are automatically declined for the cross post - Votes on the cross post will be linked to the original post

  • Comments are allowed on the new post to separate the discussions in different communities

  • A reference to the original author and post will be automatically appended to your message