Indomitus: Assembly Begins

in Warhammer4 years ago

Time to start building my Necron army from the Indomitus box!!

The Indomitus set consists entirely of snap-fit models, but the sculpts are far superior to the old Assault on Black Reach starter set. The design work here is superb, and I can appreciate it even more with my background in drafting and design.

20200729_194405.jpg

The instruction book is also well-designed. The parts on the sprues are keyed to only go together one way, and the layout on everything other than the two hero unit frames is quite scattered. More stuff fits in the mold, but assembly requires some care. Build one model at a time, and don't go crazy cutting out a pile of parts first!

20200729_210341.jpg

I also wanted to compare the Newcrons (heh) with the warriors I built a while back for Kill Team. These new guys dispense with the old green rods for a single-piece weapon that more closely resembles newer elite models. Their arms are more slender, and the overall look is more sinister and hunched over. Everything also looks worn and old. However, if painted the same way, I don't see the old models looking too out of place when mixed with the new ones. I plan to keep the kill team as-is, but try a new look for the new army. That way, I can play Necrons vs. Necrons if I want.

20200729_210829.jpg

Besides, I think these guys will glow orange instead of green. And that's easier now without green tubes by default.

Time to go build more!

Hive Signature Bar.png

PeakD Signature Bar.png

Sort:  

Probably a good thing my boys don’t play, I have one who is definitely a go crazy popping them all out type 🤣

For some Games Workshop models, I think you could get away with that to some extent. But it is not something I advise with these new Indomitus kits!