Launching the (Unofficial) Warhammer Community

in Warhammer4 years ago (edited)

No, this is not the official page. This community is not affiliated with Games Workshop, and nothing here should be construed as any kind of official support or endorsement. This is a community by fans, for fans.


warhammer-community-unofficial.png

Since we are not beholden to any corporate interests, discussion of third party bitz and models, kitbashing, scratch-building, and related games from other publishers are all welcome. Fan art, fan fiction, or other original work related to these subjects are also welcome. Just don't be That Guy and we should all get along fine here.

Choose one:

  • The Emperor Protects!
  • WAAAAAGH!!!
  • For the Greater Good!
  • BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE!
  • 01010011 01001111 01001001 00100000 01010011 01001111 01001001 00100000 01010011 01001111 01001001 00100001
  • [Insert your alternative heretical battle cry here]
Sort:  

Hey @jacobtothe I see you have a 40k community here. Nothing going on much.

I am a bit old school, I haven't played in a few editions but going to look at getting back into it again!

Do you mind any sort of content stuck here? Of all places, I am from South Africa, but we have a couple of great hobby shops in Cape Town and I would not mind posting about them here.

Cheers

Go for it! I have taken a break from the hobby, but plan to resume painting soon myself. !PIZZA

Cool man. I would love to onboard the entire hobby club haha.

Pain is temporary, honour is forever - Ibram Gaunt

Posted using Partiko Android

This relic meme was recovered from foul xenos in the Zuckerberg sector.

FB_IMG_1581276490920.jpg

I never played a single game, but I painted up a couple small armies as a kid, and I used to read tons of the books, especially the space marines & chaos space marines. I'll sub to increase the numbers if nothing else :-)

If you dig up any old photos, share them!

Unlikely, but I'll share some from the various shops & events I find myself at :-)

Did you ever read Starship Troopers by Robert Heinlein? The space marines in that book made the 40k Adeptus Astartes look like kids with toy guns :-P

Yes, I've read Starship Troopers. I'm not sure how the Mobile Infantry compares to Adeptus Astartes, though. MI were unaugmented humans in a relatively hard sci-fi setting. Astartes are genetically-engineered super soldiers able to move and react far faster than an ordinary human, and their armor is wildly different, plus their setting is much more fantasy-influenced. I think Starship Troopers Mobile Infantry are more analogous to some of the Halo Spartans or ODST. The Bugs clearly influenced the Tyranids, though.

Definitely the bugs -> Tyranids (and Zerg, among others)

I guess ya, the homo sapien vs adeptus astartes is no contest, but I was thinking the Mobile Infantry with rocket boots and tactical nukes on their arms... that sure beats running on the ground with a bolter and a chainsword :-P

True, but then again, in 40K, we have terminators, melta bombs, standard-issue RPG assault rifles, assault marines with jet packs, dreadnoughts with heavy artillery...

Arm-mounted tactical nukes though. For real :-P

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@jacobtothe(1/10) tipped @zakludick (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!