You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IS POETRY THE MOST BORING GENRE OF ART?

in Scholar and Scribe2 years ago

Well, I'm on the other side, I like reading poetry much more than prose. I couldn't tell you why. Maybe it's because in poetry I don't carry the weight of reason or, paradoxically, of communication understood in the more rational sense of a receiver interpreting the meaning of a message. Perhaps it has to do with the emotions it awakens, but not always. I think it has a lot to do with the relationship a person has with words, the structures of language, the rhythms. In my family, I have several artists, who speak, for example, of colors and shapes in a special way: that shade of violet seems sublime to them, it awakens something in them that I cannot access nor can they explain (I distinguish violet from blue and that's as far as I go). Something similar happens with the relationship that some people have with the language. It is difficult to explain, but sometimes what awakens a deep emotion is not the subject that is being talked about, but a combination of words, the tone of a sentence, the speed that generates a linguistic structure and even the location of a punctuation mark. The same thing happens to me when I write. When I write prose I feel as if I am working. I have to think, follow an order (even if it is not linear), respect the consistency of the story and the characters. Writing poetry, on the other hand, is something totally different: a place where ideas slip away and words hit you hard. !LUV !PIZZA