Lingering Hope


Image

 
I held fast to hope that you would find some way
To reach me - a note slipped through the door one day
Or ring me up as you used to, nothing stays the same
But weeks grew long and still you did not come
Now here at last stands silenced, faced with truth
My Prayers for signs went all unanswered, sooth
While you stayed gone as is your way, known all too well
The finality of "Now too late" cuts deeper than I can tell
Yet still my traitor heart whispers "Maybe he will call"
Alas, some hopes grow fangs to wound us when they fall

Sort:  

I always like a piece of writing like this that says a lot in a few words. Economy with words can make a much greater impact than a longer, bloated piece. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your comment and for visiting me

Beautiful verses you share with us tonight, melancholy, sadness and hope in a perhaps impossible highlight the poetic framework.

Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Thank you for your support in visiting me