Mourn of the Sword Chapter 3. Saraleto. Repost

in Scholar and Scribe5 months ago (edited)

IMG_20231228_113401.jpg

Chapter 2

                               Chapter 3. Saraleto

I am sure that many people would call that place charming or marvelous. In my eyes it seemed like a boring place filled with pathetic mediocrities. At least at first. But beneath of this repelling mess was quite entertaining city.

After five days two travelers reached the walls of the city called Saraleto. High walls made from grey stones were already quite uninviting. Several heads that were resting on the poles nearby or scavengers flying above them did not make very pleasant view either. But the least pleasant were thugs waiting at the gates. City guards seemed to be quite bored and were looking for trouble. Many merchants, citizens and beggars were trying to get in to the city. Guards let some of them in without even saying a word. Some were not so lucky:

''Hey you slugface! Do you have anything taxable? Give it here! Your money bag seems heavy but don't worry we are happy to help!''

In front of Cercor and Griferl was a fat dwarf. After barely seeing him the gatekeepers were already spitting at his direction and making nasty remarks:

''Where are you going you shity nonhuman scum? You don't look like a merchant and this beautiful city is no place for your ugly kind. Crawl back to the black hole that you came from! If you expect to get inside as cheaply as a decent human you are greatly mistaken. You will pay five times the usual price.''

To increase impact of his words senior guard slapped the dwarf. Other vandals started kicking their victim while screaming:

''Nasty abomination! Underground devil… Damn hell spawn!''

After about ten minutes thugs got tired and left the dwarf in a pool of blood. Now their attention was shifted to Cercor and Grifel:

''Another nonhuman!'' screamed the leader. His fists were already itching to hit a new target.

''I am not gonna pay any idiotic taxes.'' Griferl announced in a calm melodic voice. He showed a empty paper to guards. ''Me and my companion are forgiven from paying any taxes in this fine city.''

''Yes sir. Thank you sir.'' Guards stepped back with respect and friendly smiles and let both travelers into the city.

''Nice work.'' commented Cercor. ''But considering that you claim to not be a mage you sure enjoy showing these tricks.''

''Thank you. '' Grifel noded. ''I can’t deny that I like creating a bit of spectacle. To entertain myself. But in this case I had another reason. Had I not acted the way I did, you would have beaten those guards to a pulp. I think that showing my tricks and pretending to be a mage is less likely to get me in trouble than allowing you to start a massacre before even entering the city.''

''It is hardly fair that only you got some entertainment.'' Cercor pretended to be angry. ''Anyway I wonder where is the inn.''

''Quite close.'' responded a husky voice.

Both travelers were surprised when they recognized the speaker. It was the same dwarf who was attacked by guards. But now he seemed to be perfectly healthy.

''My name is Tolg. If you want I will show you the way to a "Drunk Troll" is one of the few places in this shithole where nonhumans are also accepted.''

''As I thought your injuries were fake.'' Cercor smiled. ''Still your disguise is very impressive.''

''You have sharp eyes.'' Tolg answered in lowered voice. ''Far better than those imbeciles at the gates.''

Soon the trio reached a two floors house that had doors decorated with a monstrous face biting a barrel of mead.

''Greetings travelers!'' said the innkeeper while rushing to them. ''My house is your house how can I help you?''

''Rooms for the night. Some beer, bread, ham, cheese and fish.'' said Cercor.

''As you wish master.'' innkeeper bowed.

After receiving food and drinks trio started a new conversation:

''So why are you here?'' asked Tolg.

''I came here to win the tournament.'' Cercor responded. Warrior's words were not intended as a boast - he simply stated a fact.

''I thought that you will say something like this.'' grined dwarf. ''But why is half-elf traveling with you? I don’t see him as a great fighter but even if he would be one he still would not allowed to enter the tournament. That right is reserved for humans only.''

''Perhaps that is for the best. I have no intention in joining battles. I have far too little blood to spill it in some dirty dusty arenas.'' answered Griferl. ''I much prefer seeing how others risk their lives than wasting my own. But the same question also applies to you.''

''I am also here because of the tournament.'' Dwarf said after emptying another mug. ''I can't participate but that doesn't mean that I can't earn money here.''

While saying these words he demonstrated insane movement speed by putting hand inside his pocket and pulling it out. Quick proud smile afterwards was enough to make his real profession quite clear but after that he continued to tell a different tale:

"We nonhumans can still be useful. Some jobs are too dirty for the true citizens. We can be servants of the servants. At times even normal servants if we get lucky. Such jobs are easier to find during holidays and big events. All we need is written agreement with a master."

"I guess this real reason why you approached us.'' said Cercor.

"Very clever of you. Almost too clever for a human," dwarf made a slight grin. "Yes you are right. I want you to hire me as your servant so I could freely walk in the city. If you would do this favor for me I would give you good coin. Great deal considering that it has no risk.''

''No risk? Hardly.'' mercenary was quick to argue. ''If you would get caught during your…work…that would mean that your master will also be send to prison.''

''There is no chance of that happening. You have confidence in your sword. I am also an artist at what I do and I have confidence in my hands. By the time someone starts missing their money it is already spend. Besides you look like man who is looking for danger and not hiding from it. So do we have a deal?''

Without even waiting for an answer Tolg reached to his money bag and put few coins on the table. Cercor didn’t say a word. He leaned forward… But instead of taking money warrior grabbed dwarf’s wrist with his iron grip. Tolg moaned from pain and attempted to escape but that was pointless. In the same time mercenary took one of the coins from the table Then started laughing and… released his victim:

''I must admit that you are a brave dwarf! It’s been a while since the last time someone tried to pull something like this on me. Not only did you attempted to pay me with the money that you stole from me but you also intended to keep five coins for yourself.''

''How…did you figure… it out?'' dwarf could not believe his ears and looked at his nearly broken arm.

''Quite easily. Like I said this was not a first time someone tried to steal from me. Other thieves were less cocky. After a while I started marking my coins. To avoid those nuisances.''

''Marked money? I see no marks.''

''If you would look more closely you would notice a tiny scratch under the left eye of this king.''

''Damn it! I have been doing this for decades and I have never met target as sharp as you before.'' Tolg seemed both frightened and impressed at the same time. ''It is good that not all humans are as clever as you. Well I guess even my luck had to end sooner or later.''

''It might still last a while longer.'' responded the mercenary. ''I accept your offer. You can be my servant until the end of the tournament.''

''But why?!'' Tolg could not believe these words.

''I like your courage.'' said warrior. ''And like you said I don't mind getting into trouble. If you will get caught during one of your operations guards will come looking for me. That means that I will get a little practice and maybe even some entertainment.''

Such mindset was far beyond dwarf’s understanding. Before he already though that a man in front of him would not blink a eye in any danger. But Tolg didn't even imagine that mercenary would go to such extremes just to seek his thrills. And even despite such idiotic way of life Cercor was still here. Alive and beating anyone who would get in his way. This was most bizarre.

However Grifel didn't seem to be surprised by his friend's insanity. Half-elf simply calmy stared at the stars beyond the window. His mind was somewhere far far away.