Pay To Live

My entry in the Scholar & Scribe Poetry Contest! 😁 I haven't been able to write anything in awhile, probably because I'm brooding over the topic of this poem.😅 Maybe I can focus on writing some other stuff now that I've gotten this off my chest a bit.

gold_coin_gdc42381d7_1920.png

Pic taken from pixabay. Find Artist HERE!


Pay To Live

Money is why we live, and money is why we die,
Money is why we laugh, and money is why we cry.
Not enough in the bank, for the surgery to save my life,
Only enough to get a blunt, to hopefully forget my strife.
Made to feel like it’s all my fault, like I somehow deserve this fate,
When all I did was choose a life, not dictated by your greed and hate.
Corporations that make billions, then get paid our money on their taxes,
While I don’t get a cent back, I guess they need it more than the masses.
I’m not trying to do anything special, its just my life that’s on the line,
Hearing the clock tick away my existence, while I smile and say “it’s fine.”
Trying to grind out a profit, while every day I seem to get weaker,
Trying to stay positive, when every day seems that much bleaker.
I don’t think its much to ask, to not die alone at the age of thirty-five,
But I guess that I’m just biased on this, because I want to stay alive…


Thanks For Reading!~


AND, don't forget to check out the great writers at Scholar And Scribe community! :D

Scholar And Scribe community page:
https://peakd.com/c/hive-199275/created

Scholar and Scribe Token info:
https://peakd.com/hive-199275/@hive-199275/scholar-and-scribe-tokens-live

https://peakd.com/hive-199275/@jfuji/a-quick-guide-to-the

come join the fun at hivepizza! discord with prizes, airdrops, and great people! :D

image.png