(Monthly Short Fiction Contest) Demon Child

I hope you enjoy this story! I ended up taking longer for this contest because I couldn't think of what to do, but I think this is not bad, so here we go!

Learn as if you'll learn forever — Demon Aesthetic “ The more you see of  evil, the...

Finally, I thought. I would be able to go back into the living realm and take back what is rightfully mine.

"Sir," the body is ready for possession," my helper said, rushing in. I nodded and followed her to the chamber.

As my helper had said, the body was in the black coffin right in front of me. I could not look inside, for if I saw the body the possession would fail. I smiled. Finally, I would destroy the World that wronged me and cast me here to live in Hell. I mean, who wants to live in Hell? I'm a demon, and yet even I am burning down here. And all the dead people are so annoying. They either are in denial that they died at all or don't think they belong in Hell, and most of them do. That's why they were sent here for Hell's sake!

I stood in the symbol and touched the coffin with both hands, closing my eyes. I couldn't believe this was really happening! Oh, I couldn't help but imagine the World on fire. It would look so pretty, don't you think? And once I got there I could bring all my favorite demon friends to join me, and we could rule together! How much fun would that be?

Suddenly, my entire demon body felt tingly. It was happening! Through my eyelids I saw the light coming from the coffin and me. I felt us lift off the ground and then...well, I passed out, so I don't remember anything after that.

When I woke up, I was in a hospital bed. I looked around and realized I was in the living realm. "Huzzah," I exclaimed. I moved to get off the bed but when I tried to I fell face first on the floor. Doctors came in and set me back onto the bed. "Unhand me, mortals," I tried, but they didn't listen. I also realized my voice sounded wrong, more high.

"Listen Sweetie, I know you want to go, but we need to run final tests," one of the doctors', who's name tag read Dr. Ming, said. I scoffed. "I am a demon, you shall not call me sweetie." The doctor handed me a lollipop with a smile. "I guess the anesthesia hasn't worn off yet," she said to another doctor. Then she and the others left.

I looked at the lollipop curiously. What was this sweet thing on a stick? I read the wrapper. Watermelon.

Now, something you need to understand is we don't have watermelon in Hell. In fact, we don't have any food in Hell. I mean, who needs food when you're dead? So I took off the wrapper cautiously and then put the lollipop in my mouth. My head exploded. I had never tasted that much flavor. It was delicious!

"When was the last time you've eaten," a voice said. I turned and saw a bed next to mine where a little boy sat. I shrugged. "500 years," I said truthfully. He chuckled.

"The names Ethan," he said, pointing to himself. I nodded and pointed to myself. "I have no name." He rolled his eyes with a smile. "Funny, your name tag suggests otherwise." I looked down at the hospital gown and noticed a small name tag I hadn't seen before. I took it off the gown and read it. Then I read it again because I couldn't believe what it said.

Bella Kessie, age 7. Bella Kessie, age 7. The person I possessed was a little girl with the name Bella. You know what Bella means in Greek? Pure. PURE!

I threw the name tag down and hid my face behind the blanket. I felt my newly acquired face turn red. Ethan just laughed. I would've cursed at him, but he would've just laughed harder since to him I looked 7.

Suddenly, two older people came in. They sat on the edge of my bed. "Come on Bella," a woman's voice said. "It's time to go home."

I went in the car with these people, who must've been Bella's parents. But I didn't look at them. All I looked at was the car mirror, which reflected my chubby face right back at me. I scowled, but I still didn't look scary. I wanted to cry. My demon friends, oh what would they think? What would they say if they saw me now? They'd laugh at me, and what could I do to stop them? They would laugh harder if I did anything. The agony!

When we got to the place I realized something seemed off. The place we had stopped at didn't look like a house, at least not what I remembered houses to look like. "Excuse me, where are we," I asked in my squeaky voice. The driver turned to face me with a smile, his gold tooth shining so bright it was blinding me. "Hey boss, how has it been being a toddler?"

It was a helper of mine, one of my favorites who had decided to be reborn, Bob. Bob was such a kind soul, building a bridge so I didn't get my feet wet in the river of souls, helping me create chaos in the living realm, and always taking the blame when we got yelled at by Angels. We had good times. But now I almost felt bad. He looked terrible. Well, at least he's not a child, I thought bitterly.

I followed him and his assistant (who I didn't recognize) into the building. Once inside, I realized 2 things. One, this was a school for humans. And two, it was in session. I almost jumped out of my pants. "You are not sending me to that retched place! School is useless and stupid! I don't wanna go," I complained. Bob chuckled. "This isn't a school for normal stuff boss," he said, taking my small hand. "It's for juveniles and baddies."

I looked around and realized he was right. The other children had scars and overall looked really tough. They all looked at me like I was their next victim.

"There you are, miss Kessie. We were worried sick," a female teacher said. I shook my head. "I am not Bella Kessie, I am a demon you idiot." The teacher put her hand to her chest as if shocked. She looked at Bob who nodded and grinned. The teacher sighed. "Everyone, I believe Bella has made the transition to Hell early. But never fear! She is fine there, and we now have a demon in our presence! Everyone, treat him kindly!"

They did not treat me kindly.

A bunch of the kids threw blocks at me at "dodge-ball". Then, they all said there was a ritual where I had to pour yogurt all over my head. They lied. I would've been impressed had they not done it to me.

And the worst part? Bella had friends here. Some kids looked at me as if they were sad. I did not want to be pitied! I am a demon, we hate pity! Especially when it's given by children!

Finally, it was over and we were sent to bed. I luckily got my own bedroom because, well, I am the special guest. But I didn't sleep, I just laid awake. So many thoughts were whirling around in my brain. How would I bring the demons here? How could I get out of this body? Can you even unpossess a body? I wanted to scream, but I hate little girl screams, and I now had one.

Tomorrow you can take over the World, I reassured myself. For now, just go to sleep. And I listened to the one person I like to listen to.

Myself.

Sort:  

Grace, I have to say that I think this is - by far - your best work! You really rose to the challenge with this piece, and it was a true pleasure to read!

Thank you so much! It was a lot of fun to write!

Such an imagination. A dark one, but a good one.
Have some !PIZZA and !LOLZ

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
indiebandguru tipped gracepro (x1)
@wrestlingdesires(2/15) tipped @gracepro (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

What a wonderful entry! It had me laughing and yet wondering what the demon would do next!!! Well done 🙌

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@gracepro! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

My girlfriend left me because of my obsession with storytelling.
I wonder how the next chapter in my life will go.

Credit: reddit
@gracepro, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/6)