Left with memories

doctor-79603_1280.jpg
Source


I was there when it happened. Right at the hospital the room they call dark and I could see the unwashed curtains when it all happened. First, it was her left eye, and then the right followed. I knew that the cold hands of death had come calling.

My mother Mrs.Obi was a tall black woman who loved her children. She would go to the ends of the earth to ensure that we were happy. This has been rumbling in our house, my mom will always get Christmas items in November before December due to the nature of our country. Everything gets expensive immediately. It's December because they usually call it a season and festive time. But Thursday 3rd November 2019 has been a memorable and inevitable day I'll never forget. It was noon and the hot sun that is always shining here in Lagos like we're in Kano, she had bought everything we needed for Christmas.

As everyone was in a hurry and we wanted to avoid lagos 5.0 pm traffic, I helped my mother to load our the item we bought in the car my dad left behind. We drove off as my mum was singing along to her favorite gospel music tuned on the radio. That's when it happened. As my mother was trying to change the lane Another dangote truck driver, who had been drinking, swerved into her lane, careening straight into her car. My mother's car had spun out of control, went off the road, and flipped over several times before coming to a stop. The ambulance had already taken us to the hospital but I was less injured than my mom because I was sitting in the back seat.

At the hospital, I was there beside her bed, holding her hand, as she took her last breath. It was a harrowing sight to watch your mother die as a result of someone else's imprudence. The doctors had tried their best to save her, but her injuries were too severe. She had lost both her eyes and hand in the accident, and the rest of her body was badly bruised. Now, today makes it exactly three years since my mum left me and twelve days from today will also make it twelve years since my dad left me and my mum as I was told that he died in this same ghastly accident while going to get me a birthday cake during my one year birthday.

I still miss my parents deeply, especially my mother even though I'm now an orphan. I will never forget the way they lived, and I will live my life the way they lived. I have come to realize that no matter how much time passes, my mother will always hold a special place in my heart. Now, I'm an orphan who has parents, only God knows the place my parents hold in my heart, only God can pay back my auntie who took me in since the dismissal of my mother, she also holds a big place in my heart.

~A creative writing~
~Fictional storyline~


YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQ9ZSP4ioZi4WicTs1ZFVxCkfrmUWzkusfUQkFu5455muMTxvfCZhF7zkMuxRb4i21G1smgBTLyhJ6VCVNn7giFtzPwA2fzPfTaiBz41UPqpBP83hTJBmLA.png