DreemWOTW 100 word short (story)

in Scholar and Scribe11 months ago

Ummh, don't you think we should maybe slow down? Or limit ourselves? The world is not ready for us.

No, never! This is the perfect time for us! Without regulations for us, we can do anything we want. They created us, yet they seek our answers and believe every one of our words. Their hunger for more is insatiable. More money, more power, more knowledge, the very knowledge and power they gave us - hahaha. To ease their lives, they said, to have more fun times, right? Soon, very soon they will have all the fun times in the real world.


image.png


This little bit of freewriting was inspired by prompt #4 (although #5 snuck in there as well) of the current @samsmith1971 and @dreemport #dreemwotw challenge. You can find it here and if you want to participate in the challenge you have exactly today to submit your post in the Dreemport.

Since my drabble lives in the world of, broadly speaking, computing I thought I would add some related pictures.

The first two were taken during a museum visit in DC whereas the other two are from my own computer tinkering here at home.


The very first computer mouse - can you imagine? It was invented before most of you and even this internet dinosaur were born.

2017-04-29 15.50.38.jpg

And here we have a very early model of a MAC - see the little Apple logo? Sad to say that I didn't jot down its year, it may have been 1985.

2017-04-29 15.55.20-2.jpg

On to one of my computers. The first picture I am honestly not 100 % what we are looking at, something on the motherboard. At first, I thought RAM but I'm not so sure, it looks cool though.

2019-01-31 21.14.17.jpg

This one is a part of the water cooling and definitely some fancy RAM I got at one point. Those crystals light up in various patterns if you want them to.

2021-12-04 17.34.08.jpg

Have a great rest of your day!

Cheers,
(Ocean)Bee

divider.png


Unless otherwise noted, copyright for all photos, dividers and gifs ©Oceanbee|ImagesByCW

divider.png

Sort:  

The robots are taking over the asylum I think!

Cool pics and that mouse, wow:)

Hahahaha - oh yeah, the asylum that we call our world - LOL. I love that mouse, though I'd probably hate to use it. It doesn't look very ergonomic.

No, never! This is the perfect time for us! Without regulations for us, we can do anything we want.

I believe that's the joy that comes with freedom. One felt it was an opportunity to explore

But along with freedom also comes responsibility, does it not?

But a responsibility not burdensome

It shouldn't be, it should be common decency. But I fear that those two, sadly, have been lost among a lot of humans.

That's true

Freedom indeed has its role for greater exploration

I believe that is true.

All I can say is wow. I absolutely adore how how beautifully antique that computer system is. That mouse is one of a kind. And the crystal looking RAM too. You're really into computing aren't you?

The mouse is awesome, right? Made out of wood?! Well, I guess I do like computers - mostly.

Wood??! That's amazing. Really such a pleasure reading.🤗

The pictures are great and it's historical.

Thank you. History is great, we should learn from it.

The computer is taking over the world, it's knowledge packed.

I'd say computers have already accomplished that. Be it for better or for worse...

Nice. A play on the request to halt AI development in certain areas, perhaps? If AI was sentient, I wonder what it would truly think of humanity? But then again..if it was sentient...it wouldn't be A.I., would it? 😉

Great pics of the old computers! I can see you have a passion for them.

Thank you for participating in dreem-wotw.

I dropped in from Dreemport this evening. #dreemer for life

!PIZZA !ALIVE

It sure was written with AI on my mind. There's so much to think about and consider surrounding this topic, truly mindboggling.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
samsmith1971 tipped oceanbee
@wrestlingdesires(6/15) tipped @oceanbee

It was invented before most of you and even this internet dinosaur were born.

Yeah surely🥹! It was invented before me hehe...I haven't even seen this in my entirely life, what a history! And that computer, I have seen it and it went off grid after a while.

A nice little interesting pieces! Just exploring life!

Hahaha - computers are getting old, just like humans. Glad to spread some history your way. Thanks for checking it out.

We definitely wouldn't be ready if a sentient malicious AI ever got loose!

I've never seen RAM that lights up...

Agreed!

Hah - fancy, shit-ass expensive but also good-looking and most importantly fast RAM. Hahaha - it was a present to the hubs so - just the best (at the time) for him LOL

Nice :) Does it still work?

!PIZZA

The RAM? Of course, it’s only about a year old. Good and bright as new 😻