You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Arrows in Flight - Fantasy Fiction (Part Two)

in Scholar and Scribe • 2 years ago

(insert astounded expletives here)

😂 I love this, brilliant. Yes it can be like that on hive. I've been in serious writer's workshops, and had proofreaders on other fiction where it is almost the opposite of the hive way 🤣

They pick it apart with the precision of a surgeon, and the sadist in me loves that 😂 but we're talking a whole other kettle of fish with that writing. I'm sure I remember you being around as far back as 2017 and being involved in the some of the more serious discord creative writing groups. Or am I remembering wrong?

Anyway, I'm glad you're enjoying the mix of brutality and poetic imagery @anikekirsten I am an active poet (performing in my home city) and writing loads of poetry, but I've always aspired to be a novelist. And I've really worked hard on balancing how I naturally go into imagery in fiction, where perhaps many others wouldn't. Or might not take it so far. But I feel I'm getting close to a balance I can accept, and I think is acceptable to the reader, which is more important. It is starting to feel like it's my style, rather than the imagery taking hold of me like some type of B-Movie demonic possession.

I'm only halfway finished writing the concluding part, so I'm still at that exciting writing point where even I don't quite know what will happen.

Thanks for your comment, and for reading this series 🙂 I'm aiming to get the finale out Friday or Saturday. Then I'm going to give hive a break for a while to focus on a larger writing project.

Sort:  

Yeah, I've been around for a while, haha. Back when it was still Steem. Was until recently still in a few serious writing groups, pursuing the traditional short fiction publishing route, but that industry is toxic now and Hive is so much... more.

I remember you, but I thought I was remembering someone else named Raj. Small blockchain world! Definitely keep that poetic flair you have going. It's refreshing and different and works so well with this type of story.

The number one thing I've learned after all these years, what the pros and newbies all keep saying: write what you want to read. I think you've hit that sweet spot of imagery balance in this story, especially in this part. It also serves to give more characterisation, which is a show of mastery of the craft in my opinion.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Part 3, The King's Gambit, was published yesterday and I've just finished the finale Deathdrinker’s Bite now.

I wouldn't be sharing like this usually, but these are the final things I'm putting on hive for a long time, and I thought I'd share links with people who read past episodes.