You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deathdrinker’s Bite - Fantasy Fiction Finale (Part Four)

in Scholar and Scribe2 years ago

Thanks for reading @wrestlingdesires and following this series. I guess the reason I wanted to finish this story and leave with my last posts being reasonably decent fantasy fiction is that this is the genre I'm planning on writing a longer work.

I hope he found peace, and his family om the other side!

Haha, to be honest, I think it was all about revenge for Gream, finding some finality in an insane world of constant war... and both winning and losing the great game in one fell swoop.

But it would be nice to think that he meets up with his loved ones in an afterlife 👍

Sort:  

It was all about revenge for Gream, but he will need something else. There's not going to be a battlefield for him in Heaven 😂

Thanks again for the story, and everything else :)

Revenge and redemption are two very different things. Tbh, regardless of your religious beliefs, or mine, it doesn't really matter. This is a work of fantasy fiction set in a dark, gritty war-torn land.

For me, I wrote into the mind of Gream - his power to overcome even magic by harnessing rage at the atrocities he's lived through - mainly to show the reality of what a lifetime living in a wartorn land of medieval fantasy would really be like. I can't stand the types of stories that lean toward glorifying that type of battle. Even the knights in the Game of Thrones series are written to show that the truth is only psychopaths enjoy 'the great game' (war) as captain Gream coined it.

Anyway, in my mind, Gream gained redemption, and freedom from a life of suffering, by taking the elf king down in that final epic act of escaping the sword's magical pull.
In one fell swoop, he both won (defeating the elven king and causing the sword to explode) while losing 'the great game' by dying in that blast.

While writing it, this felt like a good twist and a reflection on the constantly shifting boundaries of that land of perpetual war. The dichotomy of Captain Gream both winning and losing at the same time could define all war quite well IMO, as one side may win the overall battle or war, while tens of thousands of people die (or more) on both sides die.

Heaven, and the religious constructs of this world we inhabit, have nothing to do with the fictional lands of the seven wolds 😂

Regardless of how I see it, thank you for reading the whole series wrestlingdesires.
I appreciate the comments, and all our interactions on hive my friend.

I'm literally on here today for the last time, as I've just updated my Hive Bookstore with these serialized stories and a few others that I published since I first made that catalogue post, and I thought I'd take the time to respond to your comment.

Take care 🙂🌿

Oh, I wasn't referring to religion, usually if there is such strong magic in a world, then we could definitely expect an afterlife :) And I've not heard of many versions of Heaven that condone killing, so Gream would be needing a different focus 😂 The end was perfect, by the way 🙌

I'm literally on here today for the last time, as I've just updated my Hive Bookstore with these serialized stories and a few others that I published since I first made that catalogue post, and I thought I'd take the time to respond to your comment.

Take care 🙂🌿

You take care too, we will chat more when you come back from the world you are creating for us readers :)