Prisoners of War: A Journey of Loss, Healing, and Friendship

in Scholar and Scribe2 months ago

"What are you doing?" My mum asked with her hands on my shoulders.

"Just trying to create some characters for my new book," I turned back so that now, we were facing each other.

"Wow, what's the title?"

"Prisoners of war. That's the title I gave it for now. I could change it as time goes on. I'm just finding it really hard to write after years of being idle," I could see the look on her face, she still felt pity for me. I felt the same way for her as well.


This image

"I'm so happy you could finally come out of the clog. I know it's been really hard, son, but we will walk through this facet without any fall of our wings," she said and hugged me tightly.

I can't believe we could finally pull through what happened two years ago. Losing two siblings at the same time and for her, losing two children at the same time. Tell me what's worse than that?

My dad became a daylight drunk after the incident and blamed my mum for everything. How is losing two children her fault? I see these things in movies and would doubt that men would really do that to women. Most men don't just blame their wives, they become violent to them as well, maltreating them psychologically, emotionally and physically. I hope my dad doesn't turn out this way. I hope I don't grow to blame women for natural causes. I had explained to him severally, trying to make him understand that no mother would want her children dead. It all was like filling a basket with water, using a fork.

I couldn't complete the book I was writing then before my siblings died. I just couldn't bring myself to, though a lot of people had talked about it being my gift to them since they were my greatest fan for the work. I hope I will be able to.

"Hopefully, it turns out to be what the readers want," I answered my mum who was already in the kitchen and she turned to face me, resting her back against the sink.

"Your work has always been a great piece. You one way or the other get the reader's attention without even stressing it, that's how great your work has been. You know I have always been rooting for you as well as your siblings since day one. Just that they are-" she stopped and broke down in tears. I knew she couldn't help but break down. Seeing her this way breaks my heart a lot. I really hope she gets over it fast, which I know might not be possible. I walked over to her and rubbed her tears off before pulling her into my embrace.

"It's okay, mum," I said. She nodded against my chest and I patted her back gently and soon, her sob subsided.

I hate to see her sad, I hate to see people around me sad. Since my siblings are gone now, she is my best friend and I can’t afford to lose her too.


"Hey, man," Sunny said.

Sunny is my school buddy and I must affirm that he is one of the best people I am surrounded by. He helped me throughout the grieving time and I swear, I do not take it for granted.

"Hey," I replied and we did the boy-style handshake.

"How are you doing?" He asked, staring awkwardly at me for a response.

"I'm good,"

"I mean, how are you doing?" He asked again, stressing on each word.

"Hey, man... I'm good. I mean, I can't always think about what happened and I do not want to hear that everything will get better because it has been two years now and nothing has gotten better. But then, I know I’ve got to move on with life, right?" I answered genuinely. Really, why carry the burden that could be evident on the face all around campus? I'm trying my best though, but I'm good.

"Like, good good or good not too good,"

"Come on. What does that even mean?" I asked, laughing and he laughed as well.

"I'm glad you're back to your old self now, not fully but I’m saying, It's nice having you back," he said and patted my shoulder.

A few minutes after the class was over, I checked my phone and saw that Sunny had just wired me some money.

“What?” I exclaimed.

“What?” Sunny said back to me.

“Nah. I can’t take this,”

“Hear me out. I promise it’s not a pity payment, it's just my support for your writing,”

“Nah, I’m gonna have to send this back!”

“Hold on,” he said, holding my hand and trying to stop me from using my phone. “This is for the purchase of this present book you’re writing. I want to be the first to ever purchase it!”

I looked defeated and at the same time elated. I have the best people. I am surrounded by the best of friends__my Mum and Sunny. I looked at him and couldn’t help the tears that rolled down my cheeks before pulling him for a hug.

“Thank you!!”

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @sabrinah! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery