I Found love again

IMG_20220711_111844_020.jpg

It'd been six years of loneliness, singleness, and restlessness after my last relationship which ended in premium tears.

Should I say I was a fool for loving Marcus? For giving him my heart, body, and soul. Also, the permission to destroy them.

I knew Marcus was in a relationship with a girl in class two but I was madly in love with him and made advances toward him. I professed my love to him, he accepted immediately and we started dating.

I paraded the school like a peacock, telling everyone who cared to listen he was my boyfriend. I never knew I was a laughingstock in school.

Marcus had told his friends he never loved me and he intended to get money and s*x from me. He still went out with the other girl without my knowledge.

The other students knew about this and they all kept quiet; even my close friends never told me.

I never refused him s*x even to my detriment. He requested it at odd times and I had to meet him at his chosen location.

The school toilet, library, and our classroom were places he had asked us to do it. I had been scared to but I never wanted to lose him, so I had accepted.

A few months later, I caught Marcus with his other girl kissing at the table tennis court.

Rage pulsed through my veins when my eyes settled on them. I lunged toward her but Marcus held me back. I ranted and cursed, trying to get free from his grip.

The noise attracted other students and a little crowd had formed. They watched as I struggled with him and how he held my hand without letting go.

There and then, he told me the truth. He never loved me and had been using me. I was trash to him. Tears gathered in my eyes and gradually streamed down my cheeks.

I couldn't look at the other students, I wanted the ground to open up and swallow me that very moment. I didn't know how I left their midst but I found myself in the toilet wailing.


Those years were gone and life had ushered me into a new season of love. It was difficult to move on, to face the shame and graduate from school; but I did. Oh! Yes, I did.

I met my new man at the gym. The day had been delightful and warm. I had gone to burn some calories since I was adding much weight and we had bumped into each other at the door.

He was leaving while I was walking in.

"Sorry," I said, as I tried massaging his forehead.

He winced in pain and held my hands. "Don't you worry, I will be fine."

"I am truly sorry. I should have been careful opening the door. "

" No, it's not your fault. I shouldn't have been in a rush, " he said and rubbed his forehead with his thumb. "I am Jide, what about you?"

"Chimamanda, " I replied.

"Beautiful. Do you come here often?"

"No, it's my first time."

" I guessed so. I have never seen your face here," he said and shot me a smile.

"Well, I decided to burn some calories. I think I am getting fat."

He chuckled. "I don't think you are."

" No, I am." I laughed and walked in.

He followed me behind surprisingly and I turned. "Aren't you leaving?"

"Is that the right way of ending a conversation?"

"Er... sorry." I arched my left brow.

"We only just got talking. It can't end that way. At least, I can have your number." He shrugged.

"Yeah, sure."

He brought out his phone from his breast pocket. I received it and punched my numbers.

"Thank you," he said, "have fun." He waved at me.

"You are welcome."

" I will give you a call," he said, loudly as he sauntered to the door.

A soft smile spread across my cheeks as I edged into the reception to pay the fee.


He did call me that night as he had promised to. I almost jumped for joy when my phone rang. I had been expecting him to call all through the day.

We spoke for long hours, like childhood friends. I laughed hard at his funny jokes and tears shimmered in my eyes at his sad stories.

It was a beautiful time talking with him and I didn't want the call to end.

Months went by and I discovered I had developed feelings for him; genuine feelings this time. I kept it to myself and tried not to show it.

I was taking time to observe him and I wasn't sure if he shared the same feelings. I was hoping he did. I wanted to be in love again, heal from the pain, and have a family of my own.

And yes, he did. He loved me and he expressed it at the right time. I couldn't contain my joy when he proposed. I said yes to him twice.