You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Hunter's Instinct, Chapter 9: The Investigation

And I come to another temporary end of yet another great series.
I'm going to choose b. I say b because even though you can have a fire in a pit to hide the flickering flames, burning wood can also be detected. My suggestion is if their camp area is wooded enough they take to the trees to sleep and maybe that will be enough to keep the cold at bay.
👍👍

Sort:  

This seems to be the general consensus. A bit more risk of wild animals wandering in upon you, but much harder to be detected by prying eyes! May be safest to avoid a fire, given that you have no idea how close or how far away the group leaving the tracks are. I have thought about having them take to the trees, the problem is that it's a Bald Cypress forest. A quick Google search showed that Bald Cypress trees are pretty tall trees with very few - if any - low-hanging branches. Probably grow that way to survive swamp life, keeping the branches and leaves far up and above the water, even in flood season. Definitely a good thought, though, we were one the same brainwave with that one! haha

I'm sure that I will be able to do something fun with the dark anyway... muahahahaha! !PIZZA

Understood. I guess I missed the bald cypress part. 😁

Hahaha, I MAY not have been clear about it, and even if I had, I don't expect my readers to be botanists. Even I didn't exactly know what they looked like, I just know they're common to the area and are known for the bald knob roots that stick up around them. Great thought, I just wrote myself into a corner with that detail. haha