WOTW: S1 R3 - Distant Stars were squared to fit in boxes

in Scholar and Scribe2 years ago

Have a jolly Good my friend.jpg

Hush Hush, You´re so scary...

So few childhood memories seem to be left inside of me after all these years.
The most vivid ones are probably colored by the pictures I have seen.

Hardly ever do these images come to pass,
And when they do they are blurred and distant.

Why is it so hard to remember those days growing up?
Those days when everything was safe and simple.

You did what you were told, as long as you were in sight. Out of sight, we fought as He-man and we stole each other's toys.
You got bullied, you got praised we were just kids acting how we were raised back in those distant days.

Hard to recall those early days, like everything before a certain age did not stick to the piece of film they inserted in my memory.

The images, might come from stories, put together by my mind at a later date to fill the gaps.

Why are there so many gaps when I think about those early years?
Were we too busy living in the moment to make any memories?
Or does the brain needs a certain level of development and to be reconstructed by those so-called teachers to document moments, instead of being part of the here and now?

It´s almost as if we are not allowed to be little stars and one with the universe.

We were all bright lights when we were born, but we were shaped into this thing with limits by society.

We were undone from our pointy aspirations to fit into the boxes that could be labeled. A pointy start takes up to much space, but if we cut them down, remove the pointy crown of uniqueness, society will seem organized.

Those distant memories from a time when the universal light was still emanating from my being. Still, radiant children captured the eyes of those stars turned into squares. The squares can still see the light, but can´t remember how it was to be in perfect harmony.

Perfect Bliss, Unless you were hungry, tired, or hurting of course then you just screamed like a baby.
Faded memories, not even sure if they are actually mine, travel through my mind, and in the distance, a song is playing

I know the words are different....but one of the memories I do still have from those distant days is her singing:
"Hush Hush, You´re so scary..."

Source pic

Sort:  

I remember some of the days growing up, but it is usually only the embarrassing moments. Those are the ones that are basically carved into your mind and all of the good ones are fleeting. It sucks. Good song though. I have Til Tuesday on vinyl. It's a good spin. They were underrated and deserved much more than the one hit in the US.

I remember mainly those times I fell from things and broke some limbs, but as you say most good memories seem to have faded. And as for the band, I like them a lot very 80´s but with a clear personality.

Haha that song unlocks some memories for me too 🤣

I can't help but feel that we lose the ability to remember childhood correctly because of perspective. We know too much now, which distances us from innocent magic... that's probably my fav part of being a parent, I get to live in that magic again through my children's joy :D

Thanks for sharing your take on the wotw!

Thanks for a great comment, and enjoy the magic.

It gets harder and harder to remember those childhood days for sure!

Your image of stars turning into squares for an ordered society is very poetic. Great song. I haven't heard it before but feel the 80s strongly from it.

I came in via DP :)