An Unexpected Rice Farming Lesson - Teaching my Son how to Cut Grasses in our Rice Farm

in Home Edders2 years ago

Greetings!

I am glad to share with the community another learning activity with my son. It has been weeks since my son used to see me leave the house after breakfast and then come back a few hours later. It has been my SOP since our rice crops has been planted last July 2, 2022. And since rice crops need care and require mostly hands-on management I have to visit our rice every day.

And then one day, when my son saw me about to leave the house he took his rain boots and his straw hat and declares that he would go with me to the rice field to which I obliged because I don't want him bugging his mommy which is very busy doing some household works. We have to walk about a hundred meters from our house to the location where we are going to cut grasses.

20220806_084007_4.gif

I actually do not want in bringing him with me to the rice field because he will only get dirty and will get itchy because of wild grasses and weeds that he may come to contact with. Most of the time when he wants to go with me I always shut him down by telling him that it is hot outside.

But this day is different, the sun is not hot, and is quite windy which is perfect weather to go and visit the rice farm. As you can see in the gif image below the wind is very apparent on the leaves of the rice crops. Also, the location of the footage of the gif image below is where I am going to teach my son how to cut grasses.

Arriving at the location I told him to put on his rain boots (see gif image below).

20220806_084007_5.gif

I am actually going to cut grasses today on our rice farm so I just took this opportunity to teach him how to do the job. I am actually a bit surprised because when I handed him the grass-cutting tool he immediately swayed it from side to side on top of the grasses beside the rice crops. I think it is because he always sees the cutting grasses because our house is just nearby.

By the way guys, I took extreme caution on this activity because it involves a bladed tool.

20220806_084007_6.gif

At this moment (see gif image below) I am pointing to the grasses that he should cut, which are at the side of the bund or small dam. Before this moment my wife arrives, she is curious to see how our son will perform in cutting grasses so I asked her to take photos and videos of us.

20220806_084706_1.gif

And then during teaching time, in the gif image below I am showing my son how to properly cut grasses on the side of the bund or small dam. Grasses on the sides need to be cut or removed because they interfere with the growth of the rice crops. As easy as it may seem, this job is quite hard, especially if the sun and hot and there's no wind. It is a good thing that is quite windy on this day.

20220806_084706_3.gif

After I showed him how to properly cut grasses, I again handed him the cutting tool and let him cut more grasses. By the way, I can be seen waving to the camera on the gif image below (I am actually saying, "Hello Home Edders!" while waving)

20220806_084706_2.gif

We moved a few more steps from where we are standing and then I still let him cut some more grasses so that he could have more practice in cutting grasses.

20220806_084706_4.gif

I only let him cut grasses for a few minutes and then I concluded the activity because I need to do the cutting now.

20220806_084922.jpg

I asked my wife to take a photo of us and we are done.

20220806_084917.jpg

That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.

I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2022 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

Ang cute cute naman ng assistant mo! Haha. Naalala ko nung nasa Leyte pa ako, part ng activity namin sa class ay magputol ng mga ligaw na damo sa garden so me and my classmates would bring those grass utter na parang shaped like letter C. I forgot the name. Your kid is lucky to experience things like that. Di namin magawa yan dito sa place namin, wala naman kasi kaming rice fields. Hahaha

Ang cute cute naman ng assistant mo! Haha.

Maraming salamat (^_^)

grass utter na parang shaped like letter C

Lingkaw or Karit (Tagalog), Kumpay (Ilokano)

our kid is lucky to experience things like that.

Indeed, naalala ko noong bata ako, sumamasam din ako sa tatay ko.

Greetings @afterglow, I imagine you and your son had a great time on that farm day, plus he gained a lot of learning and memories of his work with his father that will have great value in his life.

Blessings!

Indeed, he had so much fun. And yes he will remember it for the rest of his life (^_^)

Naalala ko tuloy Yung anak ko. Nangunguha kasi ako ng pagkain ng rabbit and Sabi nya he will help me daw but I refused Kasi Sabi ko Bata pa sya at medyo Makati din Yung damo. Siguro kapag may Ganyan na edad nya e pedeng pede na nya ko tulungan hehe

Ay oo, medyo puwede na utusan ang ganyan na edad, nauutusan ko na yan paminsan-minsan, hhe, kakatuwa lang kasi sa musmos nyang isip gusto nya i-try lahat ng ginagawa ko sa bukid.

Your son had a great experience working with his father, soon you will have a great helper in the harvest season.

Peace and good!

Thank you, I hope he will inherit my passion for rice farming.

Nicely done, you two! I enjoyed seeing you and your little one on the rice field! 🥰

I love these moments, when learning is combined with practical skills. Also good for creating memories. ❤

Thank you (^_^)

Indeed, this kind of learning is good for creating memories. Someday, when he grows up I will show this to him.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Ilokano ka din pala! heheh~ Your son is so adorable! Refreshing to see the bukid ahh~

Yes, native Ilokano from Nueva Ecija, hehe.

Your son is so adorable!

Salamat, mana sa mommy nya, hehe.

Maganda talaga pag nagkainteres ang bata sa isang bagay hayaan natin cla mag explore at turuan. Para mas ma love nila yung gawain

Tama ka, kaya hinahayaan ko din sya minsa na sumama sa akin basta huwag lang mainit ang araw sa labas (^_^)

Abaaa ang sweet ng mag ama ahh. Now ko lang nalaman may beeb ka na pala. Goods yan turuan natin ng ganyan mga bata habang bata pa sila. 🥰🥰

Abaaa ang sweet ng mag ama ahh.

Thank you (^_^), mas sweet sa akin ang anak ko, mana sa mommy nya, hehe.

Goods yan turuan natin ng ganyan mga bata habang bata pa sila. 🥰🥰

Korek, mas madami silang matututnan.

Okay yan sir para ung bata lumaking mapag mahal sa pamilya. Kudos sir!!

Thank you (^_^)