On Earning Their "Salary", Saving, and Spending

in Home Edders2 years ago

Hive.png

Pay Me!

Well, not a bribe (but could very well be!), but we introduced a "wage" system of sorts particularly with the Little Miss. She "gets paid" in exchange for her doing house chores. I personally don't remember getting paid for house chores but I clearly remember getting Php 0.25 per gray hair I pluck from my mom or dad. LOL.

The method of payment is of course cash - used to be on weekly basis but apparently, now she would like to get paid daily.

Saving and Spending

They have been taught to save -- they have coin banks, savings accounts, and of course, a Hive account (which I think now needs to be separate). They have built a habit of putting any money they earn in their respective coin banks. Along with this is the constant reminder of how important saving is, and making it work.

"If you want to buy something, then save for it." That's the rule...

From time to time, I ask them to go to the neigborhoord convenience store. There, they get to practice their Math skills - making sure they have the enough money to pay for, or get the exact change for their purchase.

"Can I buy this squishy?"

Little Miss bought this little pineapple-y thingy with her money from her "salary" because Mommy won't buy it with the money budgeted for food and grocery.

They (she and Little Man) had a satisfied smile on their faces as they went out of the convenience store. They just bought their toys from their earnings.

Needless to say, the squishy thingy was broken within just a few hours. They then "experimented" on these water beads that they extracted from it. Another thing to note -- ensure that your "investment" is worth it. Check on its quality and purpose. What are you going to get from it?

Earn It!

We want our kids to learn that you cannot get things easily, but instead they need to be worked on. They need to be earned. With proper mindset and determination, they can reach their goals (material and immaterial). And we will be right beside them all the time.

arrliinn footer.gif

Sort:  

Interesting approach! I like it! I'm sure kids have better chances to become responsable adults in the future based on this method and similar others. I'll write down this idea for when we can implement it, later sometime.

Thanks! I got the idea from a friend, who can very well buy every thing their kids ask for. But instead, he doesn't and make the kids "work" for what they want. I think when the kids would want to buy something from their own pockets, they will think first before making any step.

That's the right approach :) You have to teach children from a young age the value of things. And how satisfying it is when you get them yourself for what you've earned.
I guess their smile was worth seeing! 😄

Yep, it's different when they get things as gifts than when you know it's from your efforts. Delayed gratification, works well all the time. We get more appreciative. ❤️

Yep, it is a good way to learn to appreciate what we have.
Have a happy day or evening ;) 😄

I personally don't remember getting paid for house chores but I clearly remember getting Php 0.25 per gray hair I pluck from my mom or dad. LOL.

Same here, my father used to give me money whenever I pluck some of his white hair.

Ganun ata uso nun. Hehe

Correct, hehehe.

Blessings @arrliinn, it's important to teach the little ones the importance of saving and the value of things, also to prioritize expenses and buy what is necessary.

Peace and Good!

Thanks @virgilio07. Yes, I agree. This is something they need to develop early on.

nice one sis! and I agree with you.. they should know the value of the things that they do :)

Wais din tong babae ko eh. Bawal pa madelay ang payments. 😁

ahahahaha nice! dapat lang kasi madalas pag nadedelay ang payment nalilimot na

Congratulations @arrliinn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 130000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 140000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I agree with her, you have to pay (hehe). The satisfaction on your face from buying something with your own money must be second to none. Too bad they lost their investment, at least they were distracted by the little balls inside. Greetings.