Origami

I spotted this beautiful butterfly and was able to snap some photos. It reminded me of a project we did years ago. I looked up one website but there are dozens that will show you how to start origami.

Origami is really fun and will keep kids busy for hours creating different animals or things.

20221008_093431.jpg

The following is a simple project about butterflies which is easy to do, inexpensive and educational.

20221007_103427.jpg

Materials needed:
Square colour paper 8.5cm

Instructions:
https://www.instructables.com/How-to-MAKE-PAPER-BUTTERFLY-1/

Important
Either before or during this project you can teach that there are four stages in the metamorphosis of butterflies and moths:

egg, larva, pupa, and adult.

20221008_093422.jpg


Photos and written work is my own.
©️ingridontheroad

Sort:  

Hi @ingridontheroad, the origami technique has many benefits, in fact it is widely used as occupational therapy for children and adults, it helps them to exercise motor skills and concentration, as you point out in your publication.

You managed to take a great picture, the butterfly is beautiful and the colors are spectacular.

Blessings!

Thank you. I think it would frustrate me if I used it in occupational therapy. My patience is not what it used to be 😂

¡What a pretty butterfly! Origami is a technique that I really like to practice at home with my girls, since it allows them to be concentrated, attentive and their hands get to work, which is good for fine motor skills.

Greetings and blessings

It definitely uses fine motor skills. Rather tricky making some things.

Origami is great indeed! Nice looking butterfly and good inspiration for your project!