You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: English Unit Learning Worksheets

in Home Edderslast year

As a librarian and an early reader myself, I always have trouble when a parent asks what books are right for their child based solely on age. We have a selection of books marked according to reading level, but I think the cataloguing system for that is unreliable. We have tools for approximate grade level or lexile scores I can use as a benchmark, but I always encourage people to push their limits and read what looks interesting instead of just what pops up on my screen.

I am also saddened sometimes when kids who are struggling to learn obviously feel like they are being punished with extra drills. Turning learning into even more of a chore for them doesn't encourage growth! My 2 cents, anyway.

Right now, I am working on a social media post for the district to encourage adults to read classic literature along with a few tips to help get through longer and more complicated books in somewhat unfamiliar language. We all need new challenges, after all. Sometimes some effort is required for a worthwhile reward.

Sort:  

I hear you! I totally agree with you, on all aspects. Maybe for some kids, following the standard age requirements and recomandations is a valid point, but I think this is likely to not be the most efficient guiding path, for most of kids. This is not the fundamental guideline we should follow, when we educate kids. Age...is just...one peace of the whole. I consider that the kid should lead the whole learning approach. My son can do Math already and can understand all kind of science principles and etc. Just an example. I mostly use books for 5-6-7-8 yrs old. Sometimes more than this, for example the human body atlas.
I get lots of questions and afirmations on this: why do I keep teaching these stuff to my son? Cause when he'll be in school, he will got bored. I have ny answers, which usually are these one:.

  1. Maybe he wont go to school.
  2. Even if he does, we'll find solutions. I wont keep him low level, if his potential is greater than this. I will work with him at his full potential, considering what he likes and ofc, what I feel its best or approapiate for him.

And yes, Im sad too when I hear all kind of comparisions between kids. And this is the reasons I dont like to talk about the way I teach my son with the people here, in Romania.
Sorry,this is another topic.
But what I was trying to say is that I know that learnig wont happen by force.

P.S. Appreciate stopping by and commenting! Your point here is just right!