Keeper Of The Lost Cities (Book 1, Chapter 2 Summary)

in Home Edders2 years ago

My name is @keeperseeker. I am an avid reader who greatly enjoys Keeper of the Lost Cities (KOLTC) book series.

Background

When I first was introduced to this series by one of my best friends, I sat outside and devoured the book.

I want to encourage others, including homeschoolers, to read this series. I hope you enjoy my chapter-by-chapter summary of the series.

Disclaimer: My posts may include spoilers. The KOLTC series is written by Shannon Messenger. I do not claim ownership of any of the characters or plots described in the series.

IMG_1528.jpg

Main characters:

  • Sophie Foster
  • Fitz Vacker

Chapter 2 Summary:

Sophie almost got hit by a car. Instead, the car hit a streetlight, and it started to fall straight for Sophie. Sophie put her hands out in front of her and "her mind pulled strength from somewhere in her gut and pushed it through her fingertips". The streetlight collided with the energy. Sophie was holding the streetlight with her mind when an accented voice told her to put it down. "She shrieked and dropped her arm without thinking". Fitz pulled her out of the way of the crashing light, and they both tumbled to the ground. Fitz broke Sophie’s fall.

Fitz asked her how she did that. She did not know. Fitz pulled her to her feet and told her they had to get out of sight. He started to drag Sophie down the street. They ran until they reached a zoo’s parking lot. Sophie asked Fitz what he wanted. He told her he wanted to help. Sophie also asked him why he was looking for her. Fitz was unsure if he could tell her. Sophie asked how she could trust him if he didn’t answer her questions.

Fitz told her his father sent him to find Sophie. They had been looking for her. He was supposed to observe and report back, no talking. He then told Sophie she did not make sense --she was not what he expected-- and her eyes threw him off. Sophie wondered what was wrong with her eyes. Fitz told her they all had blue eyes, except her. Fitz told her they were not human. Sophie was stunned. She thought Fitz was insane.

Fitz asked Sophie "Can humans do this?" He vanished. Sophie did not believe she could vanish, but Fitz seemed sure. He told her, "You have no idea what you can do when you set you mind to it". She started to question who she was.

End of book 1 chapter 2.

Let’s continue the conversation:

  1. How would you feel if you were dragged away, after barely meeting someone?
  2. If you found out that you were not human, what would you think?

Favorite Quote(s):
"You have no idea what you can do when you put your mind to it." --- Fitz

Comment if you have enjoyed this chapter.

@KeeperSeeker

Sort:  

Sounds like an interesting children’s book. I found a series a few years ago that was meant for adolescents but I really enjoyed it as an adult! It had some nice fantasy aspect to it and I devoured 4 or 5 of the books I think lol.

If I was in a situation where I just stopped something with my mind, I would probably run away from the person looking for me. My mind goes to things like the movie Terminator where things get sent to kill important people like that lol

I probably would run away too. Thank you for commenting. It means a lot.

You're welcome! I know sometimes it's hard to get some attention to a post. I appreciate you commenting back, that goes a long way! :D