Bring your kids to work day

in Home Edders3 years ago

img_0.03401775670773928.jpg

I have to be honest, we're still in lockdown and it wasn't a full day at work. I had to knick into the office to pick up a new pass and equipment. So I thought it was a great opportunity to take little miss 3 out on a day trip into the city and to see what work or more so where work is.

img_0.5385532533508994.jpg

The building I work in is a newish sky scraper that was built ontop of what was thought at the time to be vacant land. However, during construction a large amount of relics of the past were under the ground.

img_0.47261193508716537.jpg

I can understand that if this was Europe or another country that find would have been enormous. But were probably only going back 100 years. How the land was thought vacant just goes to show we are crap at record keeping 🤣

But nonetheless the items found were actually quite cool. Alot of antiques that were brought across from Europe in early settlement/invasion years. As people flocked to Melbourne and created a home they brought some awesome antiques with them.

img_0.6624484293980598.jpg

Even gem stones and precious materials were found during excavation of the site. I showcased them to lil miss 4 and told her about the 1700 - 1800s. She some how things thats when I was born and asked what I owned back then 🤣

It's amazing seeing a little persons perception of time and space and these discussions always seem to really put me in my place. Lil miss four will often recall memories from when she was two and say "that was years ago dad! When I was a baby. Makes me feel old.

img_0.4246627441129919.jpg

I shouted lil miss 4 to lunch at my favourite Cafe that I haven't visited for over a year and they finally got to meet her. They had herd all about her and called out her name when we walked in. She was confused how they knew her.

We had a tour of the office also but due to the nature of my work I can't share those images.

I think it was a great experience, one that exposes lil miss 4 further to what work is and what kind of jobs are available out there in the world.

From seeing dad head off in the mornings, to watching me work from home and now visiting the office it helps develop a picture of the current world. If it will be like that in the future, no one knows. But for now, lil miss 4 has a bigger picture of it.

Sort:  

so sunny girl;)

Hahaha yes she was so happy :) we had a great day!