Human Body Preschool Learning Activities - Part 1 🦴🧠

in Home Edders β€’ 2 years ago

Hello community! πŸ’œ

If you remember, a few posts ago I mentioned about the fact we've been doing some learning activities at home on Human Body Theme.

I'll try explain in a few words and pictures what exactly did we do and how we worked with the available education tools and materials. Caleb is 3yrs and 8mo old and he's really into this topic. The whole week (even one week after) he only talked about "my body", "muscles", "bones". All he did was related to "BONES" and "MUSCLES". The cutting, the drawings, the stories...πŸ™„ For some reason (as I noticed), he likes especially the part with muscles and bones. πŸ€”


20221003_104958.jpg


Educational Resources we used

This is not our first time talking or reading about The Human Body. By the age of three, we've read all the books we had at home, designed for little kids and their understanding. Most of the books (designed to deepen knowledge) we have at home are supposed to be for 3-5 or 5-7 yrs old kids. I buy these because I can already use them in our everyday learning.

If there is information too vast and complex for Caleb, then I simply skip it or I try to explain to him the best I can. Usually skiping content is not an option 😁 because my son is really focused when we're reading a book and there's no chance to skip pages or images. He always ask questions on what he sees and always waits for an explanation until he's happy understood it.


20221003_075357.jpg


BOOKS

I usually buy Usborne Books which are just great! We love them. They are very well structured and they have captivating illustrations to stimulate children's desire on discovering things.

As you may noticed in many of my posts, there's always a book on the table when we're doing some activities, working on some crafts or when we're learning something new. I use books everytime I get the chance. Luckily, my son is a passionate little book worm and can stay 1 or 2 hours without moving if I'm reading to him. Thats something I cherish. A lot! I'm very happy for this because all that my son knows (science, math, words and dictionary, English, nature, shapes etc) is mainly from books.

All right; so, for this activity we used many books on this topic to show, observe and explain how our body works, how the body is build, the internal organs, the muscle and bone systems, the brain, the circualtory system. The last one he didnt understand it well so I just leave it for now. Some other time. I insisted mostly on organs, muscles and bones.


20221003_161210.jpg


And mostly, we have this book from the series "Raspundel Istetel" which is FABULOUS! Caleb adores these books. We have 9 books and one intelligent pen. They are amazing. My son is really a fan using these books. I have it always in the car when driving. He's very happy with the books and doesnt need a toy or a smartphone to keep him active and avoid becoming tired and bored.

"Raspundel Istetel" is a unique educational concept that allows children to accumulate a lot of interesting and useful information in a fun and dynamic way. Thanks to special technology, even preschool children who cannot read yet can fully use the books. The pen talks alone when touching the book. The books usually have 2000+ words, poems, stories, concepts, science words, animals, etc.


20220928_165204.jpg

20221003_154716.jpg


Human Body Puzzle

We started with this 4 layers puzzle: Internal Organs, Bones, Muscles and Skin.

20221003_104818.jpg


Bones Printables

Afterwards, I found online these easy worksheets to work on. They're really easy but efficient for learning if you only have a printer.

We reproduced the Bone System with its main bones. I think its enough for a small child even though my son knows the names of many many bones in our bodies and how the bones are part of the body to keep it stand. He knows that femurus is the longest bone and that its strong because it has the function to support the weight of the body. And many more facts like this.

I attach all the pictures to show you how we worked on this one.


20221002_201137.jpg

20221002_201315.jpg


Flash Cards

Another cool thing we have are those cards, Montessori Cards they as they are called. They're really nice and we have maybe 30 pachages on different topics. They are really helpful and are especially a good visual resource to use when teaching kids.

The "Human Body" package familiarizes the child with the internal organs and the main bones of the human skeleton. The notions are presented in pairs consisting of a card with the illustrated element and a card with its position in the body.

20220928_165154.jpg

20221003_155214.jpg

Internal Organs

This simple exercise is the simplest out there. I found many like this using all sort of materials to represent the organs. Maybe we'll do something in the future but for now I had energy only for this.

Still it was efficient. Besides this, I put Caleb to try show on his/my body the organs and where they're placed.

We named every organ and we used the book to find it. He already knew them but still, there's only something new to learn and to this age, repetition is the key for success.


20221003_105139.jpg

20221003_155254.jpg


Internal Organs and their Functions

This is another great thing I found on Twinkl. I use Twinkl to download worksheets. I pay for the service, but I dont know to tell you how much. I pay it anually and its automatic. Thats why I forgot how much it costs but they have a lot of good resources there. A LOT!

This activity has a bit harder and Caleb had to learn this time by paying attention and try reproduce the content he just learned.
Because the topic wasnt new for him, it was pretty easy but maybe this is not recommanded for every child, especially the ones which are only in the begining of human body's learning.
Still you can try and repeat it many times. It involves kid's memory, attentions and learning capacity.

20221003_155745.jpg

20221003_155739.jpg


We had to match the flash cards. The Organs and their Functions.

For example.

  • This organ it pumps blood in the body - Heart
  • This organ digests food - Stomach
  • This is the largest organ. It protects all other organs - Skin

20221003_161223.jpg


I have to end this post as already I feel its a bit too long but I can't do it other way. I hope this is useful for you too.

Basically, I tried share with you everything we've been doing 2 weeks ago on "My body" theme. Still some content to share though. 😏

I'll be posting another one - Part 2 - in the upcoming days. Stay tunned if you're interested! πŸ™‚πŸ€”


love, Missdeli πŸ’›


Sort: Β 

This indeed is an intresting topic for any kid. I remember being very curious about what is there inside of my body when I was 6-7 years old. Mummy obtained a big illustrated atlas for me, and in our home library she was keeping some old Soviet books about it, written especially for kids. πŸ‘ I guess now your baby is well-educated πŸ˜‰

I had an atlas myself. I loved to use it, same as you did.

I try my best to teach my baby boy all kind of things. I'm lucky he wants to do all this! I mean, he's active and a very good listener.

Greetings @missdeli, very complete didactic resources you use to study the human body, with very important information for children to have a better understanding of the subject, the images of the internal organs and their functions are very beautiful, the idea of joining them as a puzzle makes it even more interesting, I imagine your child had a lot of fun with this activity.

Blessings!

Hello there and sorry again for being late replying. Thank you for your comment, indeed all these materials and resouces helps me a lot in my homeschool journey!

I love the materials, they are so attractive, I wish I could find those kinds of materials online so that I could also teach my son in advance.

Thank you! I'm glad I can have these, they are indeed of great use!

You're welcome (^_^)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @virgilio07 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you @virgilio07 for the retweet!

These are beautiful resources! No doubt your Caleb would be very interested in these.

Thank you! I'm very grateful to have them! ❀️

Congratulations @missdeli! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 3500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Your human body data is really useful

Thank you! I'm so happy to hear it!

Congratulations your publication has been chosen among the best of the day.

KEEP CREATING GOOD CONTENT.

image.png

Thank you for the support! I'm glad you liked it!

Hola @missdeli. Tu publicaciΓ³n ha recibido un voto de parte de "Autismo: Un Mundo Excepcional" ahora con presencia en HIVE, gracias a su Proyecto @mundo.autismo.

anigif.gif

Hello @missdeli. Your post has received a vote from "Autism: An Exceptional World " now with a presence in HIVE, thanks to their Project @mundo.autismo.

Conoce nuestra Comunidad / Meet our Community
Bienvenidas las Delegaciones / Welcome Delegations

Trail de CuraciΓ³n / Curation Trail

Thank you! And good luck with the project!

Dear @missdeli,
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

It's done now! 😊

Thank you for your support @missdeli, really appreciate it! πŸ‘