Sensory Play is the best play for toddlers and babies

in Home Edders2 years ago (edited)

Hello guys,

I found these photos yesterday and I thought to share them with you. When my son was between 1 and 2 yrs old, we did a lot of sensory play and activities, with all kind of materials and objects. But I remember water was one of those set ups that could keep him concnetrate for minutes (more than 20 let's say) cause in case you forgot or maybe didnt know, attention span in babies and toddlers is very limited.

I remember first time trying a color sorting activity with my 1.3mo yrs old. After not even 5 minutes, he was done with the activity and started throwing things on the ground. I was very disappointed but then I've learned that this is normal. So keep this in mind in case you have babies around or you just started education with kids of small ages.


20210708_101058.jpg


All right, so what do we have here? What is this activity all about?

Well, it's so easy that a description is not necesarry needed. In a box I added water and then I put in there all kind of flowers, what we had in the garden/yard (like rose petals, dandelions and some wild flowers which I dont know their names :D).
It was my wish to put in there some natural elements but you can add whatever you like or have in hand: lego pieces, buttons, nuts, stones etc.

It was summer, I set up this activity in our yard, it was a beautiful morning as far as I remember. This kiddo here was about 2 yrs old..

20210708_101331.jpg

20210708_101833.jpg

20210708_102002.jpg

20210708_101902.jpg

20210708_101242.jpg

20210708_101438.jpg

What you see here, these tools are called "Helping Hands Fine Motor Tool Set".

I love this set, it helps a lot with the development of fine motor skills. It includes a Gator Grabber (grab and sort objects), a Twisty Dropper (in the tab or water), a Handy Scooper (for sand and water) and a Squeezy Tweezer (pick up buttons and more).


I gave these to my kiddo to grab the flwowers in the water and overall to have fun while playing like this. It was a success, the play lasted for more than half an hour, which is awesome.

Also, you can observe some little colored containers, made out of silicone, used in baking goods. We use these very often in our sensory play moments.


20210708_101049.jpg

20210708_101152.jpg


20210708_101314.jpg

20210708_101221.jpg


20210708_101907.jpg


What about you? Did you ever tried this kind of play? Are your kids responsive and happy to play like this? I would enjoy reading your thoughts. 💛

Missdeli

Sort:  

Woow! , I personally haven't tried this but I think it's really interesting. Sensory development in young children is really important as it forms the base of the child's learning and perception. As you know, children love water and colours as well. And I think this is a great game for sensory development. Thanks a lot for sharing

Exactly! Sensorial experiences are one of the best ways for so small children and even babies to understand the world around them.

Thanks so much for stopping by, appreciate the comment!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you again for the support! 😊

Sensory play is a wonderful introduction into the world around them. It's fantastic to watch their little brains go crazy when you introduce new things.

Great post

Yup, couldnt said it better myself! 😊 thank you!

I was attracted at once to sensory activities when I start learning about educating little children.

And I could always find my pleasure preping these kind of activities for Caleb. It makes sense to me!

Love the motor tools, I love the motor box too! I wish I have done this activity with my son when he was still 1-2 years old.

Thanks 😁😁 I know what you mean though...there are a lot of things and activities I wish I had time to try them together with this little one here..but we cant do them all right?. 😒

Yes, you are absolutely correct, we can't do them all, which also makes me sad sometimes.

Definitely I understand it! 😁😅

Dear @missdeli, sorry to jump in a bit off topic but may I ask you to support the HiveBuzz proposal?
It recently lost its funding, is struggling to get back above the HBD stabilizer proposal, and is in dire need of help.
You can support it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

On behalf of The HiveBuzz team, thank you!

Ok, I'll take a look!

Thank you, looking forward to getting your support for the proposal ⏳🙂

Done. 😁

Thank you for your support @missdeli, really appreciate it! ❤️

No problem. 🙂😊

I liked this strategy. Thanks for sharing. Cheers