Summer Activities on Sunflower Theme for Toddlers and Preschoolers 🌻🌻

in Home Edders β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I will continue sharing some of our Home School Summer Activities which come in hand these days perfectly, when days are longer and same goes with time. So here's what we actually did this last week in order to keep my 3.5 yrs old boy active and off screens.


Other than being just a regular homeschooling post, this is my entry for the contest hosted my @holos-lotus in collaboration with @homeedders .

In case you don't know about it, it's a challenge in Home Edders community or Cross Culture community, where you'll have to submit an entry with one or more educational games/activities you do at home with your child, during the summer vacation, for the sake of learning and for getting time off of the screens.

Read more about it here. It's still plenty of time, till 14th August, but don't forget time flies fast!

Also, maybe @crosheille and @taliakerch, you girls can participate if you have some time 😊!?




Moving on, here's what we did last week:

SUNFLOWER THEME 🌻



20220726_213111.jpg


Short description

I think these activities are for children with ages between 2.5 and 6,7, depending on the child and his level of development.

I did all these activities with my son Caleb, who's 3yrs and 7mo old. I guided him, as it's understandable but he did all the work and my biggest interest was to teach him more about Sunflower, just for the sake of learning.

I will describe every activity down below so feel free to put any questions, in case you have some for me. You can try all these activities without the books that we have. That's optional. Instead you can print some info for you that you want to pass on to the child and that's it.


COLORING 🌻


20220726_212745.jpg


We started our week coloring.

But to make it more challenging (though it was not for my son :D) I printed 2 sunflower coloring sheets.

First, color by Odds/Evens.

Is it Even or Odd?
Use red for Even and Yellow for Odd.

I mean Numbers. Odds (1,3,5,7,9) and Even Numbers (0,2,4,6,8). My son learned these by himself. I had to search and translate first time he said Odd and Even, cause I didn't know what he talk about. He learned it from his favorite TV Show, NUMBER BLOCKS. Crazyyyyy!


20220726_213849.jpg


Color by Number
And second, we colored by having in sight what color represent which number.

1. Yellow | 2. Orange | 3. Purple | 4. Black | 5. Green |


20220726_214214.jpg



SHAPES 🌻


20220726_215949.jpg


I have an account on Twinkle Platform from which I download often many sheets and materials to work with Caleb. This Sunflower made out of Shapes was brilliant! I loved it very much, maybe it was my favorite from all.

It involves SHAPE Recognition & Fine Motor Skills by handling the glue and by putting the paper shapes on the worksheet.

You can color this Sunflower and than cut it yourself if you dont have a printer. You can always improvize.


20220726_220312.jpg

You can ask here the following which is a real BOOST in learning: 🌻

  1. What geometric figure do the petals represent?
  2. What shape are the leaves?
  3. How many triangles do we have? How many ovals?
  4. When is Sunflower blooming?
  5. What colors does Sunflower have?
  6. What other Summer Flower do you know?
    etc etc etc


FINE MOTOR SKILLS 🌻


We did three activities in this area of Motos Skills, Dexterity, Hand Eye Coordination, learning new infos during these activities. That's why we had the books on the table, to every step. That was my main focus, to provide him new informations the moment I considered it would have been useful and to make sense for the child.

20220729_182010.jpg

First, he had to grab with his little hands the sunflower seeds and then introduce them in a piece of polystyrene.

You can use a peace of old polystyrene if you have or if not, you can use playdough. I saw this idea only after making this one. But I think playdough instead of polystyrene would be much effective and easier. Still, whatever you have its fine.

If you want to take this to another level , which is not hard but its FUN, after making this, let your child use Gator Grabber (grab and sort objects tool) to remove all seeds. I mean this, the orange one.


20220729_093626.jpg


Fine motor skills and thats it. Thats the objective of this activity.

Second activity was to create a Sunflower 🌻 using fusilli pasta.

He liked it a lot! You only need pastas, glue, paper and carioca. But you can tell that by seeing my photos.




And third activity to work on those fine motor skills was to grab the little sunflower seeds and glue them on paper.

To make it more challenging, I told him to use the grabber I just mentioned above. He did until he didnt anymore. He founds it to hard and he gave up but older children have the patience and the skills to get it through the end. Still, it's a good exercise to develope princer grasp.

You don't need much. In fact any of these activities doesnt really require a lot of stuff, don't you think?

You need glue and sunflower seeds.



Sunflower Pixel game

This game is also a good option if you want to develop fine motor skill, hand eye coordination, colors learning and many more. I used it to create a sunflower if we were on that, this week!
It is beautiful!


20220728_125410.jpg



ARTS 🌻


In short, three methods here:

Fork Using Method

Finger Painting

Recycled Toiler Paper Roll - Sunflower Petals

We used Acrylic Paint and that's it. You do the petal from recycled cardboard and also you need to draw the outline of a sunflower on paper. Thats all you need for these activities.



20220727_164919.jpg

20220727_163237.jpg



This is how they turned out. What do you think? My son loved the most the third method, with cardboard petal thing. We did two of those. πŸ’›πŸŒ»

What's your favorite?

20220727_164914.jpg



SUNFLOWER LIFE CYCLE 🌻


Now this subject is where we talked the most and learned new things. We have this book Little Sunflower and its one of the favorites. Its very helpful and the book its written like a cute story but it presents real aspects from nature, like the cycle of a sunflower.

We did 2 activities on the topic, to make sure he understands how things are. Well, thats 2 without the book itself that after reading 50 times in one year, I think he got it haha.

First is this.
We had a representation of Sunflower Life Cycle and he had to associate the images in the right order, by drawing lines.


20220726_220511.jpg

20220726_220649.jpg

Second is this one.

He had to put in order the paper squares representing life cycle of a sunflower. I tried to let him do it and he did it! I tried to make sure he doesnt really looks up in the books or the previous worksheet he did, and he did just great! Now I know he knows!

Still, if you look closely, on the squares is written the number of the phase like 1,2....6. He had to associate it with the dots on the other paper. So a bit of MATH was included as well. Well, for him this is nothing. He looks at one pictures with more than 10 dots and in only 1 sec he will tell how many are there so I know he focused on the phases, not the numbers. But its really a good activity for the theme.


If you wonder what we talked about here, these are just a few to mention.

Sunflower is a type of plant with flowers and seeds.

What's happening in the first phase? Seeds and germination.
The seed is planted in the ground in the spring. The seeds have a thick shell. They can have black and white stripes or be completely black. They start to sprout after 1-2 weeks.

The seedling develops and some leaves grow on the stem. The root develops in the ground.

The plant grows taller and stronger, heading towards the sun. The bud forms after 30 days and the flower opens.
after 90 days the flower reaches maturity.

The petals of the flower begin to wither and the plant dies. The seeds on the flower also fall. Some seeds are fixed in the ground and start a new life cycle.

Then I asked him again like a recap:

Name one of the colors sunflower have
What is the seed planted in?
When is it planted?
What color are the seeds?
What grows underground?
etc.

20220726_222000.jpg



OTHERS 🌻



What do plants need?

This is one of the topics I mentioned about. He had to give me right answers by circling those elements plants need in order to survive.

Air
Sun
Water
Soil with nutrients


20220726_215338.jpg

We look, we observe, we touch, we feel, we learn!

(this is the key to learning!)


Parts of a Sunflower 🌻

He had to show me those on this paper but we also had one ral sunflower so we used them both. Working with real nature elements in these kind of activities has a huge importance.


Easy Math

20220726_215423.jpg

Books

WE took our information on the theme from the books we had. This beautiful book is called Little Sunflower and it's an USBORNE book. I truly recommend it!


20220726_220710.jpg

20220726_221409.jpg



OK GUYS! I'm done! I KNOW!

It's a very long post! I thought to maybe write 2 posts on the theme but I liked it this way. It's not easy to write such long posts with so much photos but it's all worthed! I hope its useful for you, thats the reason I wrote it in the first place!

I hope you get inspired and do some similar activities like the ones we did. Maybe you can have this pattern and do it with other nature elements like a rose, a tree, a legume or a fruit, an animal etc...

I'm only sharing with you these 2-3 more photos we took on our land.

After all these activities and info, where's the perfect place to learn and experiment, other than outside???

So we went outside and fully enjoyed ourselves with the view, the sunflowers and their natural environment and the experience of seeing and feeling what a SUNFLOWER really IS!


20220705_212115.jpg

20220702_212816.jpg

Thank you for reading, everyone!

Missdeli

Sort: Β 

Hello friend your sunflower is very beautiful. I really liked the game where you graphed a sunflower , excellent for working motor skills in the little ones.

Peace and good!

Thank you Virgilio! I know, that one is very colorful!β€οΈπŸ’›πŸ’š I liked it as well!

Wish you all the best and I'm waiting to see your publication!

I really liked this activity, especially because of the different materials used, and each one had its purpose. Thank you for sharing it.🀩

Thank you! I'm glad you like it. I alway try to use different educational material in order to represent better what I try to teach my little one.

Super educational! Great how with only one topic you developed many cognitive and sensory activities. And lastly recognizing and integrating it to the essentials nature, really creative and fascinating.

Good luck and blessings πŸ’žπŸŒ»πŸ’ž

Thank you!😊
I do this often with my kid. I have a weekly theme and then I organize all the activities around that specific theme.

Supporting and encouraging little ones πŸ’šπŸ€ΈπŸ½β€β™‚οΈπŸ§ƒπŸ€ΈπŸ½β€β™€οΈ

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

That's good to know!

Beautiful sunflower painting

Thanks!! πŸ’›πŸŒ»

Felicidades su publicaciΓ³n ha Sido elegida entre las mejores del dΓ­a.

SIGA CREANDO BUEN CONTENIDO.

image.png

Thank you!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Wow, this activity contributed a lot to child development in terms of numbers, motor skills, science/biology (sunflower life cycle), and geometric shapes. Nicely done as always.

Thank you, I tried to cover a bit of every area.... appreciate your comment! 😊

You're welcome (^_^)

Wow! I’m not even a judge but I want this post to win! πŸ˜„πŸ˜πŸ˜†

Whoa so many learning activities stemmed for the sunflower theme. I really love how he learned in a variety of ways all while enjoying fun activities and art. I appreciate the write up of this post and all of the photos. Learning about the cycle of a sunflower and putting the sunflower seeds on one is just so cool.

I love how you ended the post with that beautiful sunflower photo! Nicely done.

I most likely won’t have time to put one together as we are preparing for a new homeschool Co-op year (I’ve been promoted to Elementary Volunteer Director πŸ˜ƒ) and I have so much to do and not much time to get it done. On top of that we just photographed a Sweet 16 party and I have tons of editing to do. I hope this won’t be the last time for such a contest. Thanks so much for the invite ~ 😊

Ohghhh you're being so sweet and kind for leaving this heart warming comment! Appreciate it, I really really do! Thank you! I try my best to integrate many educatinal areas to one theme, though I cant always organize our home learning schedule like this.
..

Dont worry for not participating its completely understandable. But I'm curious to know, if you have time, what means an Elementary Volunteer Director?...anyways seems you're busy already with the photo editing and with 5 kids... I cant imagine how it is! (sorry sorry sorry if I'm mistaken I just dont remember at the moment how many kids do you have, but I do believe 5 or maybe 4) LOL.

And I mentioned you because I knew you're homeschooling your children and I just KNOW you have a lot of valuable lessons for the rest of us to share. (Besides that I love your writting style).

Hugs hugs from Romania

Oh for sure! I really think doing it this way makes it so much easier for them to make connections and also with retaining the info.

Thanks for understanding. Yes, so for the homeschool co-op we joined I will now be assisting the Elementary Coordinator this year. My role as a volunteer director/coordinator will be working with and scheduling volunteers (those parents that sub when a teacher is absent), helping with curriculum and planning our field trips. I’m really excited for this year which starts next week. πŸ˜ƒ

Lol it’s okay I do have 5…you were right!! βœ…πŸŽ‰

Aww thank you. I love your style of writing so much too as well as the lovely photos you share. I really enjoy reading from you ~ πŸ’“

I feel like we should have been pen pals while growing up πŸ˜„πŸ€—!

Surely your little one was well entertained and focused on this activity; It also develops their fine motor skills. Thanks for sharing.

Greetings and blessings

Yes, he was cognitively active most of the time. Though he had his favorites.

Greetings from Ro